Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Outstanding! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Look just like green onion cakes but need more spices and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Best recipe I've used so far to get the dough to the right consistency! I brushed sesame oil on the top of the dough before sprinkling onions and salt/pepper. The key is to make sure you rest the dough. Will definitely keep this recipe for repeated use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. A few notes... * You will need 2 bunches of green onions unless yours are very large * No need to let the dough rest. really, trust me. * For more flavour, use sesame oil both in cooking and in the dough, or half and half with vegetable oil. * LESS IS MORE WHEN IT COMES TO OIL! Add 2 or 3 drops to the pan before each batch of cakes you fry, not all at once in the beginning. We're not deep frying them, after all. * Use sea salt. * Roll the dough out long, roll like a cigar, coil like a snake, then roll flat. Thinner is better. * Eat them hot. (drools) * Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These were really good. I halved the recipe and used garlic salt with parsley instead of salt and pepper. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed sweet hot chili sauce and soy sauce which was good for dipping the cakes and my leftover beef kabobs in. DH's first reaction was What the heck is that? but then he wolfed them down. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Definiely try these - like Natalie's which we love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was not worth the effort at all. so hard to roll. I don`t even know how to roll something from a circle cigar style. I am just going to buy some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really really love these! I often make them and just freeze them for when I need them. I defrost for an hr sometimes not at all and fry up, they are delicious and go very well with stirfry! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews which stated that the dough was bland. So I followed the advise of another reviewer and added salt, white pepper and onion powder to the dough. That seemed to do the trick, and otherwise I followed the recipe. I did sprinkle the cakes with additional salt when they were done as well. These were terrific and my husband and I gobbled them up. Thank you so much for the recipe, spicyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I added Ricotta cheese to it and it was AMAZING! Wonderful and easy, and the base can be used for other things like little breakfast pockets or dessert pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States