Green Olive Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Although this turned out more like a soup, it was quite good. I served it over rice and saved the leftover broth and made soup the following day. If I had used less potatoes and thus less water it would have been less like a soup. I used chicken thighs and added carrots. I definitely didn't think it was too salty as others had mentioned, in fact I think it wasn't salty enough and I added salt after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It was soupy, and not at all like the picture. I ended up scooping everything out of the liquid to make it work. I didn't know if I should put it on a plate or in a bowl! I would recommend boiling the potatoes separately, and adding another flavor other than salty green olives. While I love green olives, it needs a complimentary taste, as the garlic and onions were overpowered by the olives. Maybe it could be saved with some tomatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nestle74
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We tried this recipe, my husband thought it was too salty but I thought it was great, I didnt chip the potatoes small enough. I did add the baby carrots which gave it a nice color/texture difference. I think next time, I will try it with young turnips instead, they should absorb some of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love olives so with the addition of a few tomatoes this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My husband and I loved this. It did have a think broth but still good. Added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here. It was simply awful. It turned out to be a very thin potato soup with chicken and green olive floating in it. I added flour to thicken, but it just wasn't good. I would probably take the olives out completely, add salt, and have a broth based potato and chicken soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I thought I followed the recipe exactly but mine came out soupy and gross. I ended up giving the chicken to the dogs. Maybe it was something I did wrong but I wouldn't recommend this or make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great & very easy recipe. Has become a regular favorite at our house-- thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I was very skeptical of this recipe the whole way through but the end result was yummy and tender. I ommitted the onion and accidently added the whole jar of olives but it still tasted great! The brine from the olives gives a nice salty taste. I didnt give it a 5 just because I wasnt too impressed with the finished look of it but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil' nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I should have believed the first review about it not being too salty! In fact...I will use the whole jar of olives AND all the brine next time (to be fair, we are HUGE olive fans). The potatoes really negate the salt...so it can take the extra olives! Great flavor. Made it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs. VERY tender! PS: The carrots were a great idea too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbarker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luckey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States