Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was very good and quite easy. I cook almost everything on the grill so I tried this in a skillet over med-hi heat and it worked good but not hot enough to cook off the liquid. I split it up into three portions and tried it 1.as written, 2.with some cilantro and lime, and 3.mixed with some sour cream for a wet burrito "gravy". I used 4 big serranos and it was just right for me and lacking a little heat for my husband. This'll be my 'go to' recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
We loved this. I didn't know it was so easy to make. My water didn't boil off, so I used a slotted spoon to dump everything in the blender. I added cilantro, lime & granulated garlic. I didn't have serranos so I used jalapenos. My husband isn't supposed to have salt, so I cut that way back. Thanks for sharing this great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shweetpotato
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Really good stuff, we used different chilis that the recipe called for and even added in an extra jalapeno for heat. We also added a little cilantro and blended that in, will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shweetpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Okay place to start for salsa verde, but very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty good recipe but poor instructions. This recipe does not say to drain the water, which you have to do before you put the cooked veggies in the blender. I sauteed the garlic separately since I knew I wouldn't be able to strain it out of the water. As another reviewer suggested, I added lime and some cilantro to mine once everything else is in the blender. Lime makes everything better. I probably used 3/4 of the salt. This salsa is very spicy, in fact I don't think I've ever made one this hot. I'm a bit disappointed since I made this for a party and it might be too much for some people. I used 16 tomatillos, 1 1/2 onions, and 8 serranos, and it was still very, very hot. Next time I would only use 4-5 serranos, but I like my verde salsa relatively mild to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I wish I'd had fresh cilantro, as I like what it adds. Used less serranos (scared of them!) and added the optional lime juice. I don't know if it was the tomatillos or the optional lime juice or what, but I wound up having to add some sweetener to take out some of slight sour taste. My tomatillos were not prime, either, so that may have been it. This was much easier than previous salsa verde recipes I've made where I had to roast the onions, garlic & peppers, and to me tasted just the same. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good hot sauce!!! A great change from making red sauce and we loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent flavor! However, if it's not eaten within a few hours, it gets hotter and hotter! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I can't believe I made something this good and authentic tasting and it was so EASY. A huge hit with my entire family! I also mixed it into other dishes to boost their flavor and it worked wonderfully! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
great and simple salsa verde! the only regret i have is that i didn't scale up the size from the original recipe. warning: once you start eating this, it's almost impossible to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States