Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
not that great in the instruction area. i was unable to do the consistency right. drain? don't? several reviews said to, some didn't. i tried to half the recipe and it just didn't work. three stars only because i assume some of it was user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANA128

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Was wonderful! Might take some review suggestions and grill Tomatillos next time. Will def make double batch to have some to freeeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. My store did not have serranos, so I used 2 fresh jalapenos, removed the seeds and pith. I used less salt at the beginning, but then found after I blended the ingredients it was too acidic and added more salt to cut down the acid. I did not need any of the cooking liquid, I strained the ingredients before blending. It was not spicy enough for me, so I added about a tablespoon of pickled jalapenos and a splash of the juice from that jar and blended that. This was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made the recipe as written, and I thought it was bland and salty. That's why I'm giving it 3 Stars as written. It wasn't spicy, which is how I like my salsa. It's how I believe it should be. I've been eating salsa since I was a kid, and put that awesome goodness on almost anything, lol. I thought it had potential, and after the changes I made, it's now a 5 in my house. I increased the amount of peppers, added cilantro, and reduced the salt. This salsa had way too much salt. I add about 1.5 tsp, sometimes 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe beats the one I've been using from Paula Deen's show with a Mexican woman/guest chef a few years ago, and that was a really great one. This one is the absolute best! Added one bunch of cilantro becuase I LOVE it, forgot the lime. This is the best green sauce I have ever tasted! I plan to make a larger batch and put some boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the crock pot with the sauce then shred for tacos plus lots of extra sauce on the side. You simply cannot get enough of this sauce, goes great on EVERYTHING!! I used 5 serranos the first time and it wasn't hot enough for me. If you like heat, 8 would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great recipe! Like how easy it is to make. Except that when I tasted mine, it was a little bit too sour. I had to put in some sugar to mellow out the sourness... but I think that is just the tomatillos that I got. Overall good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yummy - not the best hot sauce ever, but I was so pleased I'll put it in the pantheon of 5-star recipes. This was only the second time I'd ever cooked with tomatillos, and (I think) the first time I'd ever used serrano peppers. I made this exactly as written, while cutting the "salt, to taste" down to 1 T. instead of 2 - that sounded like way too much. Also, I used a middling cooking time of 25 minutes. Hardly any water cooked off, and though it was unstated, I drained the vegetables after cooking (but saved about 2 T. of the cooking water to add to the blender). I was happy that this made a decently hot (but not blazing) salsa, and that it had a decent thickness. I may just make this again soon - it was so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I wasn't sure how much water to use so I did as instructed, enough water to cover. I found this seemed to be too much, after simmering there seemed to be too much liquid -maybe i cooked too long i dont know. Anyway, no problem, I scooped the mixture out with a slotted soon and kept the liquid in the pan incase needed. After blending, I decided the salsa was perfect consistency without the water so poured it away. I also used jalapeno peppers, sliced with the seed and pith removed in place of serranos -husband likes it hot! I also added in 3 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro before chilling, the recipe made enough to fill a 1 lb or 10 oz spagetti jar, that is what i am storing it in. If you do remember to wear gloves! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was my first experience cooking with tomatillos so I wanted a nice and easy recipe. I liked this a lot but I found the salt (only added 1 tbls) to be overpowering. I made a second batch because I have everything available from my garden and omitted the salt and combined the two batches - perfection! Also used a combination of jalapenos and serranos and added the juice of a lime. Thanks, SB, for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States