Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a terrific recipe! I added more serranos just because I like things hot. The only thing I would do differently next time is not to blend it so much. I think it would be better with a little more texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
we really enjoy this recipe, although we've played with ratios a little bit to reduce the bitterness of the tomatillos. for enchiladas for two, we halve everything except the number of serranos (we like it spicy!). Great flavor and you really can't beat the simplicity of this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This one is a bit hot for me. I did not remove seeds and membranes from serranos, maybe I will the next time. Instructions say to add water to just cover. This is too much water. I had to cook it down for an hour to reduce volume because it was way too watery. Good learning experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
for heat and best flavor I add zest of 1 lime or 1 lemon, 2 jalapeno,1 habanero,1/4 yellow onion, 2 cloves garlic and 1/4 cup finely diced cilantro. Precook the peppers and tomatillos and onion and garlic over mesquite for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good, but I add poblanos and cilantro to make it even better. Also, I do not cook the ingredients,I just put the ingredients in the blender with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Try adding a little pineapple - may sound odd,but balances out the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made several types of tomatillo salsa and this was one of the most fun. I cut back on the Serrano Peppers to 3 and added a couple cloves of garlic instead. My parents and friends loved it. I some times get it too hot for "normal people." Lots of flavor and a perfect thick sauce to use o9ver many dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
not that great in the instruction area. i was unable to do the consistency right. drain? don't? several reviews said to, some didn't. i tried to half the recipe and it just didn't work. three stars only because i assume some of it was user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANA128

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Was wonderful! Might take some review suggestions and grill Tomatillos next time. Will def make double batch to have some to freeeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States