Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I used the recipe as a guide and made a portion that suited the recipe I needed the sauce for. I used 4 tomatillos, 1 green long hot pepper (instead of serrano peppers), and as much garlic, onion and salt that I felt would suffice. It came out absolutely perfect. Very flavorful. I used this green sauce for a chicken enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
It tastes AMAZING cold. I made it for the Super Bowl party we had but it was still warm so it was barely touched but the next day it tasted really good. Eat with tostitos hint of lime chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made a large batch and canned it up for use during the Fall months, when a good Mexican meal hits the spot on a cold dark night. I added a couple Ancho chillies and three Arbor chillies to give it a smokier, fuller flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a terrific recipe! I added more serranos just because I like things hot. The only thing I would do differently next time is not to blend it so much. I think it would be better with a little more texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
we really enjoy this recipe, although we've played with ratios a little bit to reduce the bitterness of the tomatillos. for enchiladas for two, we halve everything except the number of serranos (we like it spicy!). Great flavor and you really can't beat the simplicity of this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This one is a bit hot for me. I did not remove seeds and membranes from serranos, maybe I will the next time. Instructions say to add water to just cover. This is too much water. I had to cook it down for an hour to reduce volume because it was way too watery. Good learning experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
for heat and best flavor I add zest of 1 lime or 1 lemon, 2 jalapeno,1 habanero,1/4 yellow onion, 2 cloves garlic and 1/4 cup finely diced cilantro. Precook the peppers and tomatillos and onion and garlic over mesquite for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good, but I add poblanos and cilantro to make it even better. Also, I do not cook the ingredients,I just put the ingredients in the blender with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Try adding a little pineapple - may sound odd,but balances out the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made several types of tomatillo salsa and this was one of the most fun. I cut back on the Serrano Peppers to 3 and added a couple cloves of garlic instead. My parents and friends loved it. I some times get it too hot for "normal people." Lots of flavor and a perfect thick sauce to use o9ver many dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States