Green Grape Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it has great potential, but you have to make some significant modifications. The bottom crust can be graham cracker or normal, it's up to you. If you are doing normal crust, pre-bake it. Make sure you cut your grapes into quarters before cooking them, and add either apples or plums (cut to the appropriate size of course). Change the white sugar to brown sugar. Don't increase the cornstarch, but instead add a packet of gelatin. Also, the sour cream thing did not sound appetizing to me, so I did a graham cracker crumble like you would put over a cobbler. Bring the water, cornstarch, grapes, brown sugar, and apples or plums to a boil, stirring frequently. Turn down the heat, and stirr while boiling for a few minutes. Add your gelatin, stir until completely dissolved. Pour into pie shell, and top to your liking. I used a graham cracker crumble instead of the sour cream thing. Refrigerate to activate the gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I read the reviews carefully, and made the necessary increases in sugar and cornstarch. I was also using up grapes which were so sour they were really inedible--but they were healthy and many, so I didn't want to waste them. I, however, have not made the pure recipe, because I decided mid-boil of the grapes and sugar and lemon and cornstarch to add some maraschino cherries and some of the juice and boil it down. I'd made a more buttery graham crust, but didn't bake it first, but went ahead and poured the filling in and baked all of it for about 45 minutes. Once it was cooled, the crust had firmed nicely and the filling went into it somewhat. I then put the sour cream topping on and, when it was chilled, it became a delicious tart-pie, would be very nice for breakfast. I've given the recipe two stars, because I don't think it would have amounted to much with just green grapes (although I'm grateful to have found a recipe using them, there's surely a reason we've never heard of such a pie), but it does have potential, and maraschinos combined beautifully with the grapes. I recommend you try this combo, and do use the 4 Tbsp. of cornstarch and a good 1 1/2 cups of sugar, as well as enough sugar in the crust, and in the sour cream (use twice the amount of vanilla too). The net result is a delightful confection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
we too weren't able to get it to thicken so we added instant custard powder and a bit of milk. it thickened right up. tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
5 stars for taste and 1 star for presentation. It is not the slicing kind of pie. Not appealing at all after slicing it. I was surprised by the taste though... really good. I followed other suggestions and put 4 tablespoons of cornstarcch which didn't do anything to the consistency. I still had to drain 98% of the juice and still had plenty of liquid after I poured it in the crust. I will do it again only if I forget that I have grapes in the fridge and need to eat/use them before they go bad. Will not do it for guests. Not a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I used red grapes and twice the amount of cornstarch. Just like some of the other reviews it was a little watery, needs something else to thicken it. I'm not sure if I will try again, unless I need to use grapes up before they go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I didn't mess with the crust, I just bought a store bought graham cracker crust, worked just fine for me. I would say that in order to keep it from oozing everywhere cuz it will, would be to drain the grape mixture with an strainer and let it drain into another pan underneath it. Then add the grapes into the pie and then add the liquid mixture to even out. You'll end up tossing much of the liquid but then it won't be super gobby for eating either. And I also used 4 tbsp of cornstarch as requested by another commentor plus the 1 1/2c sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
It was difficult to get the mixture to thicken. Very good the first day, but after that the grapes get limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I had just bought a bunch of grapes at the store and they were to sour to enjoy, so I tried this pie. I read the previous reviews and adapted my recipe to use 4 T cornstarch and 1 1/2 C sugar for the grape mixture and I put a whole stick of Butter in the crust. It turned out perfect and my husband loved it. It reminds us of rhubarb pie because of the sweet/sour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I was disappointed with this pie. I wanted to try it because it sounded different. The only thing I didn't like was that it was so runny that when I poured it into the crust the crust quickly became very soggy. I quick cut a piece to try it. It was, indeed, tasty. If I make it again I will do the same as Mama Cass and thicken it more (a lot more), or maybe strain it. My 9" pie plate was fine. And I weighed the grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Nice flavor and a good way to use grapes; however, the pie itself was a disappointment. A 9" pie plate is definitely too small for the ingredients - use a 10". Also, the crust wouldn't stick together, and the fruit mixture never thickened. I had to strain out the grapes and whisk in additional cornstarch after the mixture cooled, then cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States