Green Goddess Dressing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I thought this was fantastic and had lots of bold flavors! It was not fishy at all (I thouoght I might even add some more anchovies) the only thing is it is too runny .....how should I thicken it? other than that .....LOVED it. Margaret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Now, that's what I'm talking about!! I used to make the Green Goddess dressing, from scratch, for a restaurant where I worked. When I read the ingredients for this recipe and saw that it called for green onions and anchovies, I knew this was the real deal. So many I've seen didn't include those two crucial ingredients. I didn't, however, use tarragon vinagar. Still tasted amazing without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaggyraggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this tonight the taste was vey good not too fishy. A little runny, did not have a lemon so I put two table spoons of lemon juice in. I don't know whether to increase the mayonese or decrease the lemon juice or the vinager a bit. Used half a cup of white balsalmic vinager and threw in a bunch of fresh terragon from my garden. The taste is great just a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I only loved this with WAY LESS anchovie. I only used about one tin, rinsed, and it was still far too fishy. Otherwise it's great - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
WOW....great fresh garden taste! I remember Green Goddess dressing back in the '60s, before restaurants started offering Ranch. What a shame more don't bring this delight back. I feel this recipe is the best because of the amount of parsley - the entire bunch! If you cannot find tarragon vinegar, just sprinkle a little dry tarragon in the dressing. I would take this in jars to co-workers. They LOVED it. :o) Thank you, Verdie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
So sad that I could not find tarragon vinegar or fresh or dried tarragon so I just used White Wine vinegar. I only used 1/3 a cup because the first time I made it I felt it was too bitter. I added another garlic and used 1 1/2 of the green onions. Also I only used 1 anchovy as they were extra fishy. I love anchovies and the more the better but these were just not that great.. I have to say with all that it was still amazing and delicious. I used Mayo light and you can't even tell the difference.. I live in South Africa and have a all girl get together tomorrow I can't wait for my girlfriends taste my Green Goddess YAY thank you so much.. It is also always better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trouble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was such a hit at a party last night, they told me I should bottle and sell it! Only change was substituting 1/2 cup white balsamic vinegar for the two other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We used this as a base recipe: We've never had g.g. dressing, so my recipe may be quite different. We ommitted the anchovies & parsley. We threw in some fresh basil and dried dill. Also, used balsamic and apple cider vinegar in place of the tarragon vinegar. The recipe does make more than two squeeze bottles full of dressing, so you may want to half it. It's been going quick around here: great on spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The flavor of this is great, but mine ended up just a tad runny. I think my lemon was too juicy. Next time I'll add just a little lemon at a time. Definitely use all of the anchovy filets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and all I could taste were achovies. The sauce was a bit runny but could be easily fixed. We threw the whole batch away. If I made again i'd use half the anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States