Green Enchilada Pork Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I used a pork butt roast that I slow cooked the day before. Retain the drippings and separate the fat. (about 2 cups of broth, may need to add a little water) Instead of green enchilada sauce I used red (I've tried both but red is better) I added a can of rotell tomatoes and a chopped up green pepper. This is the closest thing I have ever found to Bennie's green chili in Denver CO. (I omit the cilantro and lime, but I'm sure it would be good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is delicious. The only thing I changed was to add some stewed tomatoes, and the juice from a whole lime instead of a half. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redesdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This had a good flavor but was not chili-ish at all. It was like enchilada sauce with a bit of meat in it. We enjoyed it with chips but it needed something else. Too saucy not enough substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe!!! We used a smoked pork butt and served this with chips, sour cream and avocado. YUMMY and filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This had a very good flavor and was easy to make! I addes some potatoes but only because I like my soups chunky. I've done this one with chicken too and it turned out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very good and easy. I added shredded pork which I think gave it more texture and a dollop of sour cream prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is the most AWESOME chili, I followed the directions exactly and everyone loved it! I did heat up some floured tortillas for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this with 2lbs of pork tenderloin that I cooked in the slow cooker all day with 1 can of Dr. Pepper, 1 cup f BBQ sauce, and 1 cup of beef broth. I cut the pork into cubes and used it in this recipe. The only other changes I made: I used a 10oz can of green enchilada sauce, and I used beef broth instead of water at the end. I also used 1 tsp of all the spices instead of the varied amounts the recipe calls for (I tend to eyeball my spices, and I like everything HOT so it worked to use more of the peppery spices). In the end I got a beautiful, chunky stew. DELISH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GA law dawg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
We used this recipe to enter a chili cook off, and won people's choice! Defiantly a different type of chili, try it if you are bored with the traditional chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States