Green Enchilada Pork Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Amazing, one of the best recipes I have made from this website. It has just enough spice and I love how it turned out rather thick! In step 2, after the onions cook down for a couple minutes, I added diced bell peppers (1/2 of a green and 1/2 yellow) Some people said it was a bit too saucy...I wasn't paying attention to the amounts and accidentally only added one 15oz sized can of Green Enchilada Sauce (rather than 28oz) and 16oz of Green Salsa (instead of 7oz)...and the consistency was perfect! After adding the water & salsa, I also added diced potatoes (I used 3 small-medium white potatoes)...gave it a really nice extra something! Garnish with a dollop of sour cream, tortilla strips and avocado slices...AMAZING This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this this evening for dinner. I also made some alterations. I used chicken stock plus 2 cups water in place of water. I also only used half of the can of green salsa. I didn't take the meat out and set aside, or use butter and olive oil, so I was light on the fat. I have two in my family that can't handle a lot of heat, so the jalapeño and cayenne were omitted. At the end, I used the half lime juice, but had no cilantro on hand. I like cilantro, so wished I did. We garnished with shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla chips. We will definitely have this again. I will add a can of pinto beans next time to give it a little more substance. This was quick and easy. The flavors were great. I might also try corn masa in place of the flour or corn meal. Again, this was good. I am always looking for a great soup recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
A wonderful mix of flavors. I added a can of black beans (undrained) which helped thicken it up a bit and served it in a bowl with a scoop of white rice in the middle. A side salad completes the meal. (For the salad dressing, try mixing some taco seasoning into ranch dressing, a nice compliment, in my opinion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have green salsa so I substituted one can of El Pato jalapeño salsa, and omitted lime juice. I also added one can seasoned black beans and 2 cups lime cilantro rice to make a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
OMG, this was absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. I admit I made some changes though. (1) Used 1 can chicken broth instead of water. (2) Added 2 cans of pinto beans (rinsed and drained), (3) Purchased 1.5 lb pork roast and cut it into chunks, and (4)1 can diced tomatoes, along with 1/2T cumin and 1/2 T paprika. Yummy! Made amazing left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
We use leftover pork roast and add a couple cans of white beans to make it much more like chili and really stretch the meal out. I freeze half the batch. I know people hate it when you rate recipes highly if you change them, but I honestly never would have thought of making a broth out of enchilada sauce, so major kudos to the original poster for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Made this tonite and my husband had 2 helpings!! I added 1 diced potato to give it more substance, a little more spices and crushed red pepper flakes for more of a kick. I also put chicken broth and 2 cups water, which gave it better flavor. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Another one for the whole family! We doubled the meat, since we are a meat-y family, and added diced avocado, a dollop of sour cream and some corn chips for garnish. But, you do not need anything else! This is a fabulous alternative to the standard Rotel dip as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Yummy, I used chicken broth instead of water and a whole lime. I will make it again with more meat next time. I am thinking of entering it again for a chili cookoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Danburg Carsten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is the best green chili recipe that I've found. It's really easy and makes tons of leftovers. My husband asks me to make it almost every week. I substitute lean ground turkey for pork and add green peppers. I also use 505 Organic Green chili sauce because it's gluten-free and has no MSG (many of the green enchiliada sauces contain MSG so check the labels).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States