Green Curry Thai for Kings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Made as written, this would def not be fit for my king or the queen for that matter. Doctored up as mentioned by others it was wonderful. Three stars as written and five stars with changes made equals my four star rating. I made as directed and realized quickly that this needed some help. I added about a quarter pound of fresh green beans to the chicken saute step because my fav thai restaurant always does. After tasting the completed dish, I added 1 Tablespoon fish sauce, 1 Tablespoon packed brown sugar and 2 Tablespoons lime juice. I did NOT have thai basil so I added a handful of cilantro. The embellished recipe was delicious and I will edit and save this according to my taste. BTW I am a heat wimp, but my curry paste was mild (they vary in heat) so I used the full amount of curry paste gradually, tasting after each addition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tastes Great. Very flavorful. I used pork instead of chicken and added yellow and orange bell peppers, zucchini, broccoli, corn and some pineapple. Topped with lime and cilantro like the other reviews suggested and what a meal it was!! served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe is decent. THe lemon grass is a nice touch. This recipe is missing three essential ingredients.... FISH SAUCE, chicken stock and brown sugar. I always add 3 tbspoons fish sauce, 1/4 cup chicken stock and 2 tbspoons dark brown sugar. I find that with these additions, this recipe really does taste like the green curry I find in local thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was my first attempt at making Thai food, and I was pleased. I must have not had a very strong green curry paste, though, because I put in about 2 tablespoons of it, and it still came out kind of bland. I will make it again, and add more, though. Excellent over jasmine rice, and I will try varying the veggies and adding different things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGARBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was good BEFORE I put the coconut milk in. Afterward it was very bland so I tried putting more and more seasoning to compensate, but it just didn't taste authentic. I'm going to either seriously adjust the coconut milk or scratch this recipe altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I would eat this off of dirt. AMAZING. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. Small changes I made - instead of chicken breast 4 skinless chicken thighs & 1 small bok choy, 1 green chili pepper and 2 Tbsp green chile paste. I've added to my recipe box since we'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Excellent - I make it with tofu instead of chicken, reduce the coconut milk to about a third of a cup, and augment it with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I cut the green curry paste down to 1/2 TB and that was plenty for us. I also served this over rice and with the Thai Cucumber Salad recipe from this site and it was a pretty good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Spring Pea Green Curry with Black Co

Sugar snap pea sauce with seared black cod and strawberry garnish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States