Green Curry Thai for Kings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was pretty good, and pretty easy to make. I made it with pork instead of chicken, and it turned out great, though I'd recommend cooking the pork in a separate wok first, with the garlic & oil. I also added potatoes to this, which I think worked out great, just make sure you boil the potatoes first to even out the cooking time. I'm not a fan of eating bits of ginger, so I put in 5 very large slices, and fished them out later. I also used fish sauce instead of salt, much more authentic. And I'm confused by previous reviewsthat said they had to cut down on the spiciness; this was actually very mild curry, by any standard (wusses! LOL... either that or a huge variation in different brands of prepared green curry pastes). I had to add in some fresh chopped hot peppers & ground pepper to really get it going. I'm not a frequent cook, so it was a welcome relief to have such a simple recipe turn out so good; made lots and shared with others in my building, who loved it too; and then froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
love it, just be careful with the green curry it gets spicy very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I added some Capsicum, Green Beans and Bamboo shoots to this recipe and it tasted wonderfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe! It's sooooo good!! Don't feel threatened by the unusual ingredients. You can improvise in a lot of ways if you want. I mix it up regularly. You can even use a different curry paste, too, but I think the green is the best. My favorite Thai dish ever! Thanks so much, Paintercook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This was a great recipe...just a little too hot for my taste. Next time, I'll reduce the amount of green curry paste. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Very good--but don't let the nice gentle aroma fool you--it's VERY spicy (in a good way). I actually ended up over-doing it with the curry paste...I added more than called for and couldn't finish it because my mouth went numb. But I REALLY wanted to finish it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
It was one of the best curry that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
My favorite food is green curry, and this dish was DELICIOUS! I recommend using less green curry paste to start off with, like the other users said. Thanks to them, I used only 1/2 tbs. of the paste and it still was pretty spicy! This recipe was about 18 dollars total if you do not have any of the ingredients. I also suggest getting jasmine rice from an asian grocery store and cooking it over the stove for about 15 minutes. The water level should be about 1 inch above the rice and cook it covered. Hope this helps! Definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
The best thai curry I've ever made. This works with red curry paste as well as green curry paste. The only change I made is using fish sauce instead of salt. The basil adds such a fresh flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Delicious and easy! This was my first time making Thai curry (even though I've had it many times in restaurants) and I was surprised at how well it turned out. I would recommend squirting a little lime and garnishing with cilantro right before serving because it makes it taste really fresh. I also reduced the amount of baby corn in it because a full 15 oz. can seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States