Green Curry Thai for Kings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Great recipe! Although I did make a couple of adjustments: I added a bit extra green curry paste (only 'cause I like it real spicy) and anyways, I think it has alot to do with what kind/brand of paste you buy, some are just spicier than others. I also added julienned red and green bell peppers(1/2 a pepper each), omitted the corn, added a little extra ginger, added fresh squeezed lime juice of 1/4 of one lime, and 1 1/2 tablespoon of white sugar, and I used a small handful of fresh cilantro leaves instead of the basil. It was remarkably close to the taste of the green thai curry dish at my fave thai restaurant! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
My favorite food is green curry, and this dish was DELICIOUS! I recommend using less green curry paste to start off with, like the other users said. Thanks to them, I used only 1/2 tbs. of the paste and it still was pretty spicy! This recipe was about 18 dollars total if you do not have any of the ingredients. I also suggest getting jasmine rice from an asian grocery store and cooking it over the stove for about 15 minutes. The water level should be about 1 inch above the rice and cook it covered. Hope this helps! Definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Great taste, Really really lovely taste. The dish lacked colour. I think I would add a bit of red pepper and/or carrot strips to it next time. And adding a bit of lime juice and a couple tsp of sugar reduces the hotness but retains the flavour. A little trick I learned in Thailand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was pretty good, and pretty easy to make. I made it with pork instead of chicken, and it turned out great, though I'd recommend cooking the pork in a separate wok first, with the garlic & oil. I also added potatoes to this, which I think worked out great, just make sure you boil the potatoes first to even out the cooking time. I'm not a fan of eating bits of ginger, so I put in 5 very large slices, and fished them out later. I also used fish sauce instead of salt, much more authentic. And I'm confused by previous reviewsthat said they had to cut down on the spiciness; this was actually very mild curry, by any standard (wusses! LOL... either that or a huge variation in different brands of prepared green curry pastes). I had to add in some fresh chopped hot peppers & ground pepper to really get it going. I'm not a frequent cook, so it was a welcome relief to have such a simple recipe turn out so good; made lots and shared with others in my building, who loved it too; and then froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe! It's sooooo good!! Don't feel threatened by the unusual ingredients. You can improvise in a lot of ways if you want. I mix it up regularly. You can even use a different curry paste, too, but I think the green is the best. My favorite Thai dish ever! Thanks so much, Paintercook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a great recipes to combine with the one I already use. The additions that I made to what is posted is some of the straw mushrooms that you can find in the asian section. They are canned in salt water. I also added a cup of chicken broth, we like the extra juice and it adds a little more flavor. A Tablespoon of brown sugar, some sliced bell peppers and fresh celantro. We also use Japanese short grain rice or sushi rice. Just a better texture for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
my husband likes HOT. i toned down to 1 tbsp of green curry (shrimp free)with a small extra squeeze, and it was very hot, to me. he was left with a gentle tingle and probably would have enjoyed the full extra half TBSP, so those with high heat tolerance take note. i added a tin of bamboo shoots, and used the light version of cocomilk. dieters alert: lite coco milk saves about 70 cals per portion and more than 8 grams of fat. this was nice with basmati rice. good recipe, my first ever curry. two cleaned plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, but I wasn't too excited by the results. It was tasty enough and easy to make, but it didn't come close to the richness and complexity of green curries in Thai restaurants. Granted, I've been spoiled because I've always lived near excellent Thai restaurants, but I've never found a green curry recipe that comes close to approaching restaurant quality -- this one included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe is decent. THe lemon grass is a nice touch. This recipe is missing three essential ingredients.... FISH SAUCE, chicken stock and brown sugar. I always add 3 tbspoons fish sauce, 1/4 cup chicken stock and 2 tbspoons dark brown sugar. I find that with these additions, this recipe really does taste like the green curry I find in local thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Good, but a little too spicy if you follow the recipe. I use 1-2 tsp. of the curry paste instead. This recipe is also good if you use red curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States