Green Curry Lamb Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
WOW...this dish certainly was very tasty and quick to make as described, and of course filling. Plain white boiled rice is just right with the sauce. A definite hit with my family and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was really good. I browned the meat and drained off all the fat before forming the balls so that they weren't greasy as another reviewer suggested. I added some veggies too for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
We really liked this... but I did have to make a couple of additions... just 'cause I can't seem to leave a recipe alone! I added a little yogurt to take some of the bite away as my green curry paste is REALLY hot and hubby had to work the next day! Also added a squeeze of lime juice and topped with chopped cilantro! I'm sure it would have been good even if I hadn't messed with it! We had it over jasmine rice... and loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Excellent. I added mushrooms, onions and green beans while cooking the meatballs. I also halved the coconut cream (and used light) but used the full amount of curry paste! Everything was moist wit sauce but not dripping which was pleasant. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved this recipe. I had to double it as I had more ground lamb than called for. Yes, I added fresh minced onion to the lamb balls. I also added fresh mushrooms and frozen peas. let it all simmer on low for more than the time required. Not too hot or spicy. Plain old white rice to serve it with an a green salad for DH and all was well! I will be making this one again. Oh, and the left overs for lucnh were just as good if not better! ***EDITED*** Made this for about the 4th time last night. I allways had a problem with the lamb balls getting too browned by frying them in a skillet. So I tried baking them on a cookie sheet that I sprayed with canola oil. 350 for about 25 minutes. Perfect! Also upped the green curry paste to 3 tblsp. Used a dry steak seasoning, not a wet one and added minced garlic. Other than that I did everything I said I did in my first review. It was so much better and had less fat! DH was floored. As others have said, although this is amazing the 1st night it melds by the 2nd day it is off the chain! It is perfect as a make ahead main dish for company! That is if you are willing to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by scanime
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My wife loves lamb, and we both love green curry, so this seemed like a natural meal to try. I did have a slight problem with the outside of the meatballs cooking faster than the inside. This may have been because I had the pan too hot. A little under two minutes in the microwave cooked the meatballs through. I served them mixed with steamed broccoli and over rice, and it was delicious. My wife wanted to know when I was going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex_SPR
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious. Simmering the lamb balls with the curry ensures that the lamb balls are cooked through and juicy. Absolutely delectable recipe. Will cook again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex_SPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Loved it. This was so easy and tasted like it took a lot of work! Letting the meatballs simmer in the sauce for a good 10 minutes or so ensures the meatballs are cooked through, and helps them absorb some of the curry flavor, although I would recommend making this a day ahead to allow the flavor to really deepen. I added sliced onions and frozen peas to the sauce and served it over brown rice. I went a bit lighter on the curry sauce since I've found it too hot in the past (and I like hot food), but I think I will use the amount called for next time. My husband liked the milder curry flavor though - I guess it depends on your tolerance for hot foods and also the strength of the curry paste used - some of them can be really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I used ground turkey in place of lamb, oatmeal in place of bread crumbs, added 2 eggs to the meatball mixture and baked the meatballs instead of frying them. I then sauteed red curry paste in a little olive oil, added a can of lite coconut milk and about 1-1/2 cups of chicken broth. After simmering the sauce I added sliced red peppers and broccoli which I had steamed, bamboo shoots and the meatballs. It was soooo good! I can't wait to try it again exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Easy and excellent dish. Watch out though! If you have never used Thai green chili paste in a dish before, add slightly less. It is really hot, and that's coming from someone who loves intense heat in foods. Thanks for the quick dinner idea. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonResidentNevadan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States