Green Curry Lamb Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Love, love, love this! I use all of the listed ingredients but cook it a little differently. First, I brown the meatballs for 5 minutes and then add in the curry and coconut milk, letting the meatballs finish cooking in the mixture. I serve the meatballs and sauce over yellow rice. Like other reviewers have said, this recipe is even BETTER as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sir_Angus
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The flavors were excellent!! However, the directions are lacking ... my balls fell apart as I tried to fry them. This turned the whole dish into more of a "Green curry lamb slurry" but again it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Love these! I made them with turkey, and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved this recipe. I had to double it as I had more ground lamb than called for. Yes, I added fresh minced onion to the lamb balls. I also added fresh mushrooms and frozen peas. let it all simmer on low for more than the time required. Not too hot or spicy. Plain old white rice to serve it with an a green salad for DH and all was well! I will be making this one again. Oh, and the left overs for lucnh were just as good if not better! ***EDITED*** Made this for about the 4th time last night. I allways had a problem with the lamb balls getting too browned by frying them in a skillet. So I tried baking them on a cookie sheet that I sprayed with canola oil. 350 for about 25 minutes. Perfect! Also upped the green curry paste to 3 tblsp. Used a dry steak seasoning, not a wet one and added minced garlic. Other than that I did everything I said I did in my first review. It was so much better and had less fat! DH was floored. As others have said, although this is amazing the 1st night it melds by the 2nd day it is off the chain! It is perfect as a make ahead main dish for company! That is if you are willing to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
A little bland and wasn't a huge fan of the prominent coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Extremely tasty dish! Like other reviewers, I added a little chopped onion to the meatballs. Besides that, I stayed with the recipe. I wholeheartedly recommend this as an easy quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDYJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Valley Village, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I used ground turkey in place of lamb, oatmeal in place of bread crumbs, added 2 eggs to the meatball mixture and baked the meatballs instead of frying them. I then sauteed red curry paste in a little olive oil, added a can of lite coconut milk and about 1-1/2 cups of chicken broth. After simmering the sauce I added sliced red peppers and broccoli which I had steamed, bamboo shoots and the meatballs. It was soooo good! I can't wait to try it again exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Excellent. I added mushrooms, onions and green beans while cooking the meatballs. I also halved the coconut cream (and used light) but used the full amount of curry paste! Everything was moist wit sauce but not dripping which was pleasant. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
We really really liked this but it needed a little bit of tweakage. First of all, I added a couple of minced cloves of garlic, plus half an onion very finely diced to the meat mixture. I also softened a diced jalapeno in the skillet while browning the meat balls. I strongly suggest making this the day before you plan on eating it - the flavors meld so nicely. Also, if you're not used to cooking with green curry paste, add it a little bit at a time until it's how you like it. It has a very distinctive taste. Thanks, Jon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex_SPR
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious. Simmering the lamb balls with the curry ensures that the lamb balls are cooked through and juicy. Absolutely delectable recipe. Will cook again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex_SPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States