Green Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! Lots of flavour! I googled "red curry powder" and made my own. Into my favourites...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe. Have made coconut curries many times before, but this was particularly good. I used skinless thighs to reduce the fat. I also used coconut oil to fry them in beforehand. I chose green beans for the veg and they were great. I also used a popular curry paste. Making it again tonight. I will be using a green curry paste this time. And cod and shrimp instead of chicken. I will also include Sweet potato with the green beans. Because we like it hot, and the kiddo does not, I make the curry sauce saving about a cup. I blend this with the jalapeños and heat in a small pan separately. When serving we just add a big spoonful of this superheated sauce for heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aviana
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS! I love the spices so I add extra garlic and double the cilantro and curry. I've only been cooking for the past year and I'm still blown away every time I prepare this dish. My friends love it when I share with them; This recipe makes me look like an amazing chef! Thank you so much Chef John!! More healthy recipes like this please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was one of my first attempts at curry and it was delicious! I used 15 chicken legs and left out the sweet potatoes and eggplant. I didn't increase any other of the ingredients and it was plenty of sauce. Unfortunately I didn't have any fresh cilantro, so I substituted a tsp of dried coriander. My super picky 8 year old even asked for seconds! After the chicken legs were gone, I cubed a few sweet potatoes and a pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and made a soup using the remaining sauce. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this recipe, but I make some modifications. I use chicken breasts instead of legs. Cut up and sear the chicken pieces. I also change out the veggies - I don't love eggplant. Use veggies that won't get soggy, like a mixture of carrots, potatoes, green beans, broccoli, variety of peppers, asparagus, etc. You can substitute ginger powder for the fresh ginger if needed, but I prefer the fresh. Once this is done cooking and ready to serve I add either sour cream OR greek yogurt (add either to taste) to the sauce and heat just enough to serving temperature - - - it helps slightly with the flavor and makes it a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ayk
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was the best recipes I've made from this site. Amazing!!! We love the green curry beef from the local Thai place and we've been craving it. Well, no need to crave again. I followed the recipe pretty much all the way except: I used 4 legs and 4 thighs (still had plenty of sauce), my store didn't have Thai basil so I had to use regular. What I'd change: we like it spicy so I'm going to leave the seeds in 1 or 2 of the jalapeños, more ginger (I wish the amount noted in the recipe was more specific) I'd change nothing else. The sweet potato and eggplant were delightful. I'm going to try this with beef next time. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC flavor! Took longer than 25 min on prep time. So next time I'm going to triple the recipe and freeze! My husband couldn't stop eating it. Next time skin needs to come off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena Abel
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this tonight for my family of four including a picky 5 year old and 1 year old - everyone liked it. I only added one jalapeño so it wouldn't be too hot for the kids. I couldn't find McCormick's red curry powder, so I used a tablespoon of red curry paste (Mae Ploy brand), and I didn't add any basil leaves. For veg, I used 2 white potatoes, a can of baby corn, brown mushrooms and sliced red pepper. I used cane sugar, just because. I'll make this again, the sauce is such a good base. I served it with jasmine rice. I think next time I'll use chicken breast or chicken thighs. Just a preference, because even after crisping it, it ended up soggy in the final product and I don't enjoy picking skin out of my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
this was very good and very versatile.. cut the recipe in half and used 2 thighs and 3 drumsticks.. didn't have eggplant or sweet potato so used broccoli and carrots instead.. used all Silk coconut milk for the canned coconut milk and the water.. had to use jarred garlic and dried ginger.. lemon for lime.. omitted the brown sugar and added two cups of chicken broth.. the end result was a very delicious soup.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I think the eggplant and sweet potato kind of stole the show, and the red curry made the dish look a lot less green. I may try this again and modify it a bit. Wasn't bad, just wasn't as great as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States