Green Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I love this recipe and use it all the time. Thank you Chef John. I used boneless thighs this time and it was amazing. I used a serrano and 2 jalapenos with seeds as we like it very hot. Wow was that good. I will be having some for lunch today...cant' wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very Good. My boyfriend doesn't like spicy so I substituted a milder pepper and could not find the Red Curry powder so I added 1 rounded TBSP of red curry paste. I would also use boneless chicken thighs next time. I used zucchini, sweet potatoes and Jasmine rice and it worked out great. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was excellent & I would make it again. I couldn't find red curry powder at either of 2 markets, so I used the same amount of red curry paste (Thai Kitchen brand) instead. I also cut back to 1 jalapeno because I wasn't sure how spicy the paste was compared to the powder. I would probably try 2 jalapenos next time to get a little more heat - we generally go with "medium" spicy at Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I think the eggplant and sweet potato kind of stole the show, and the red curry made the dish look a lot less green. I may try this again and modify it a bit. Wasn't bad, just wasn't as great as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this recipe, but I make some modifications. I use chicken breasts instead of legs. Cut up and sear the chicken pieces. I also change out the veggies - I don't love eggplant. Use veggies that won't get soggy, like a mixture of carrots, potatoes, green beans, broccoli, variety of peppers, asparagus, etc. You can substitute ginger powder for the fresh ginger if needed, but I prefer the fresh. Once this is done cooking and ready to serve I add either sour cream OR greek yogurt (add either to taste) to the sauce and heat just enough to serving temperature - - - it helps slightly with the flavor and makes it a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this tonight for my family of four including a picky 5 year old and 1 year old - everyone liked it. I only added one jalapeño so it wouldn't be too hot for the kids. I couldn't find McCormick's red curry powder, so I used a tablespoon of red curry paste (Mae Ploy brand), and I didn't add any basil leaves. For veg, I used 2 white potatoes, a can of baby corn, brown mushrooms and sliced red pepper. I used cane sugar, just because. I'll make this again, the sauce is such a good base. I served it with jasmine rice. I think next time I'll use chicken breast or chicken thighs. Just a preference, because even after crisping it, it ended up soggy in the final product and I don't enjoy picking skin out of my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was very good!I used 2 jalapenos because I was concerned it would be to hot for my kids. It was perfect for them and the hubby really liked it too. We had it on brown rice, next time I will use Basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackfam5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
this was very good and very versatile.. cut the recipe in half and used 2 thighs and 3 drumsticks.. didn't have eggplant or sweet potato so used broccoli and carrots instead.. used all Silk coconut milk for the canned coconut milk and the water.. had to use jarred garlic and dried ginger.. lemon for lime.. omitted the brown sugar and added two cups of chicken broth.. the end result was a very delicious soup.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dutch Baby
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was the best recipes I've made from this site. Amazing!!! We love the green curry beef from the local Thai place and we've been craving it. Well, no need to crave again. I followed the recipe pretty much all the way except: I used 4 legs and 4 thighs (still had plenty of sauce), my store didn't have Thai basil so I had to use regular. What I'd change: we like it spicy so I'm going to leave the seeds in 1 or 2 of the jalapeños, more ginger (I wish the amount noted in the recipe was more specific) I'd change nothing else. The sweet potato and eggplant were delightful. I'm going to try this with beef next time. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutch Baby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
i would use less water next time.. did not have the red chili so uses some chili flakes.. sauce was good made brown rice on the side.. my brother and dad really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States