Green Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have better luck using my blender than food processor for this- it gives it a finer, more even chop. Also, I forego the peanuts and add a few sprigs of mint. Tastes so fresh and especially delicious with warm naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made as directed with a few minor changes: instead of the hot green chile I used 1/4 of a seeded finely diced jalapeño. (if I were having friends over who couldn't take much heat, I might reduce the jalapeño even further). The peanuts are probably not necessary...but I had some on hand so I tossed them in. And I used 2 cloves of garlic. Once everything was blended I noticed it didn't look "right"...looked more like a pesto than a sauce...so I added about 1/4 to 1/3 c of sour cream. It was AMAZING! We spread on those extra thin Indian cracker/bread things (Papadam??) along with the red and brown sauces the Indian restaurants serve as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I did half cilantro, half mint, two green chilies, no peanuts, lime juice instead of lemon and no peanuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is an amazing sauce. My peppers weren't that spicy so I used 2 instead of 1 and I used lime juice in addition to lemon juice. I've been putting it on sandwiches and it's great. This one will repeat in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
YUM! This chutney is amazing. I did leave out the peanuts & add mint as several other people suggested, mainly because I was trying to recreate a chutney that I had tried at an excellent Indian restaurant recently. At first I didn't think this one was as good, but my guests raved about it. Then the next day I tasted it again - WOW, so tasty. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soooz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
tasty and easy to throw together. everyone liked it -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I don't want to rate this as I think I did something wrong- It was too runny and didn't taste good. Is it possible to overprocess this cilantro? It was very soupy. I also didn't taste much cilantro, all I could taste was ginger. I did add the 1/4 tsp sugar and some mint, all to no avail. It ended up in the disposal this time. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great - who knew making this stuff was so easy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! I didn't add the peanuts, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I wish I had doubled it though - you would be suprised how small one bunch of cilantro chops down to. I didn't have a problem with too little liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States