Green Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a really good recipe! My husband tasted the chutney before dinner and decided at that point that "dinner is going to be good tonight". Only thing I did differently was roasted the peanuts in a skillet with a little bit of oil or ghee. I would only recommend this if you are using raw peanut (not pre-roasted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I served this with a beef curry dish along with Indian spiced cabbage and chickpea curry. It complemented all three wonderfully! The brilliant green color also dressed up the plate. Thanks for a unique way of adding cilantro to an Indian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
We love Indian food and have recently begun experimenting with recipes at home. This green chutney recipe has the authentic taste we want to balance out the other Indian dishes we like to serve. And it really is easy to make. I do think adding a little sugar and fresh mint, such as one reviewer suggested, produces a good flavor balance and also have tried both fresh peanuts and peanut butter. (I think the peanut butter is better, maybe because it blends better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty fair, but it -definately- needs some extra fluid to make it usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My husband has been yearning for this sauce since our local Indian restaurant closed. I substituted natural peanut butter for the peanuts and lime juice for lemon. This is great with the Naan recipe on this site. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
What a delightful chutney-served it with papadams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Tasty and colorful. I served it with chickpea curry (the recipe is also on allrecipes.com). I had a small problem with getting the chutney out of my blender, but other than it was no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I brought this to a pot luck and had mass raves! The hostess, who claimed to hate cilantro, loved it the most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
What a fun chutney for a change! Great with curry! I really liked this, it was a terrific splash of color for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Green chutney is simply the best. I have my variations of this: only garlic or only ginger - not both. I prefer it without peanuts. I do add a little of unsweetened grated coconut to give this chutney some body from time to time. A few mint leaves also enhance the flavor. I also add 1/4 tsp of sugar. I love to smother my toast with this chutney and it gives me a welcome and spicy break from all the sweet breakfast dishes like pancakes, cereals, etc. You may want to avoid this if it has garlic though!! Great recipe! As for kids: only Indian and Mexican kids and kids from countries where the cuisine is normally fairly spicy will venture near this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States