Green Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Perfect for dips ans spread on toast! Lovely for St. PATRICK's DAY! Hard to get cilantro all year round, does it freeze?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was really good. I had my doubts when I just tasted it on its own but it was really good as a dip for samosas. I had to use lime juice instead of lemon juice because I'm in a place where it's not possible to find lemon juice (or lemons!) but I imagine it would be even better prepared correctly, so I'm giving it 5 stars. Though, I did have to add about 1/4 - 1/3 cup water and that's not tecnhically a part of the recipe. Also, make sure you process the peanuts first and then add the other ingredients because if you put them in at the end they don't get processed properly and you end up with whole peanuts in your chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This green chutney was very good. I made it with samosa which accompanied homemade naan and homemade butter chicken. The down side for me, which was no fault of the author was that in BUlgaria, we do not have fresh cliantro. However, I did find thai corriander paste which I substituted for the cliantro. It was still good with this substitute but I bet this recipe would have been really good if I could get real cliantro like I would get back in the states...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My favorite low fat and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orange Beach, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love this, minus the peanuts, as a dipping sauce for grilled shrimp. To the reviewer who felt that only Indian, Mexican and kids from other countries would enjoy this, I will share that kids raised in the American South, with Crystal, Tabasco and pepper sauce as fixtures on the table, would also not have a problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First green chutney recipe I've made. Not sure about the peanut taste. Could use a little brown sugar. Pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a staple at my house (with coconut instead of peanuts.) I have it for lunch on "Indian tacos"--vegetables stir-fried with Indian spices on whole wheat tortillas dressed with yogurt and green chutney. Then the next day I puree the leftover vegetables with water and a spoonful of green chutney to make soup for dinner. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is so yummy! Good for toast and dipping veggies. Switched lemon with lime, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
fantastic! omitted the garlic and peanuts but so fresh and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is so easy to make! I used raw cashews instead of peanuts due to peanut allergies in my house, but it still has a great flavor. Didn't need any water added to it as the consistency was perfect. I chopped the cilantro and garlic first - adding a little cilantro at a time - and then added the other ingredients one by one to make sure everything got blended well. My husband will love this as the chili pepper I used appears to be very hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States