Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Green chili stew is a very popular dish in New Mexico which is where I grew up. I make this easy stew on Christmas Eve (slow cooked in a crock-pot for 6-8 hours). The level of desired spicyiness will vary for different people. Canned green chili is too mild for my taste. For those who prefer spicier green chili, I recommend www.buenofoods.com - a popular New Mexico chili retailer. You can also choose to make a milder stew and serve extra green chili on the side so people can adjust the spicyness. I highly recommend you try this stew - it will warm your bones on a cold winter's day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
WONDERFUL recipe. I made it even simpler by just throwing everything in my slow cooker and letting it cook for 2-3 hours until tender. I added the potatoes about 1/2 an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My husband really liked this. He is Mexican and does not like Tex-Mex food, which is what usually passes as Mexican food. He said this was just like something his mom makes, which means it's not only tasty, but also very genuinely Mexican and traditional. I added twice the amount of chopped green chiles, and added the hottest chopped tomatoes with chiles I could find. It still wasn't that hot, but it was very, very tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
OK I made this into my "own" recipe but used this one as a guideline. Instead of using beef I did pork cubes so therefore I ommitted the broth. I would reccommend using about a cup of water instead. I did not use the cucim but that was because I don't care for it. I chopped two small jalapeno's and browned them with the onion and meat. I DID NOT add the potatoes. Instead of using the canned chili's I chopped fresh, about one dozen. After browing the meat and onions and jalapeno's I mixed everything in the crockpot on low for as long as I needed. It is a very good recipe! Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I used pork loin as I think it goes so well with green chile. Like others, I made this in my slow cooker so I omitted the oil. I used 14 oz frozen green chile (with liquid) so I reduced the broth to 1/4 c. I didn't add tomatoes or potatoes for dietary reasons, but did add about two cloves minced garlic. This is very similar to the way I usually make my green chile meat, but I usually don't add cumin. I'll definitely be adding it from now on. Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe to try if you've never made Green Chili Stew before. I did make mine with ground beef rather than beef stew meat or pork and used fresh roasted green chili (living in NM has it's advantages when it comes to getting authentic ingredients for this one!) that I purchased from Sunflower Market. A little tweaking of the spices to suit my personal tastes - I like a lot of garlic - fresh tortillas from a local establishment and we were in total green chili bliss! Suffice it to say I won't really need to be buying from local restaurants as I have found something just as good, if not better! Thanks for posting a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This was a delicious stew/soup. The s in my family went nuts for this recipe. This is something I will include in my monthly menu, I can't say enough about it! t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tavisha
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this according to the recipe. I didn't change anything; however, I did add to it. I added a large can of white hominy, an extra can of green chiles, and six peeled, chopped carrots. It came out very, very good. Next time, I'm thinking of chopping some cabbage, avacado, and lime slices and dressing it like we do posole. I think it would be perfect for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My family and I love this recipe! I change it a bit, I use pork and chicken stock. I add coriander and garlic powder (sometimes oregano) as well. For garnishes, we use sour cream, avocado, and I bake corn tortilla strips that I've tossed w/a bit of oil and salt to add something crunchy. Haven't tried it but some cilantro at the end would probably be excellent in here. Awesome as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
YUM! The very best easy soup. The meat comes out tender and flaky and the soup base is savory-tart and slightly spicy. Love it and will be making it a regular at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States