Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I used pork loin as I think it goes so well with green chile. Like others, I made this in my slow cooker so I omitted the oil. I used 14 oz frozen green chile (with liquid) so I reduced the broth to 1/4 c. I didn't add tomatoes or potatoes for dietary reasons, but did add about two cloves minced garlic. This is very similar to the way I usually make my green chile meat, but I usually don't add cumin. I'll definitely be adding it from now on. Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was really good. Makes a yummy burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love this recipe and have been making this for years. Since my husband loves spicy taste I used a can of tomato with habanero pepper this time. I also cooked in a crock pot. He LOVED it! I did,too! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a great base for green chile stew. We love green chiles so I added an additional can of green chiles. I didn't think it called for enough broth - i ended up using around 3 cups. A new fave in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I 'accidentally' overcooked this, and it turned out fabulous! Now I always do it this way ... cook ALL the broth off, then deglaze the pan with another can of seasoned beef broth (and sometimes I add a little red wine) and cook it down again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Excellent. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I prefer pork instead of beef with green chili. I also use posole instead of potatotes in a 'stew' variation. I place it in the slow cooker overnight; using lots of garlic, and onions. The next morning I add the cumin and oregano, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Wonderful flavor! Thanks for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was very good. It needed a little more spice so I added a little more cayenne pepper. Will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This had just the BEST flavor. Had to change the recipe a bit for what we had on hand. We had whole pig on the spit to use up. Guessing about the amount used but thinking more than 2#. Used 8 Anaheim peppers, roasted, peeled, coarsley cut. Used 2 t. minced garlic and 1 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 1/2 t. cumin, 28oz. (yellow) tomatoes and 4 c. water w/ 4 T. chicken soup base (extra water because wanted extra potatoes). Chunked 4 medium potatoes then thickened w/ 1/4 c. flour and water at the end. We are true pork lovers so I think I'll always make it with pork but when the "real pig" runs out, maybe I'll add some liquid smoke to store-bought. I live where there is lots of Green Chili Stew around and definitely eaten my share. This is absolutely the best. The flavor just rules! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States