Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I followed the recipe fairly closely. I did use fresh tomatoes and cooked them seperately (homemade version of stewed tomatoes) instead of the Rotel tomatoes. I did not add green pepper/jalapeno to the tomatoes as I was cooking for guests who do not like spicy food. The stew turned out great - not spicy but it had great flavor. I added more potatoes (about 5 medium total) and cooked until the potatoes were very tender and almost mushy. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I thought this was a fine everyday dinner recipe. Very easy. It lacked a little something, but I'll figure that out the next time I make it. I used a very inexpensive cut of beef and it was very tender (Acid from tomatoes) withou having to cook all day or taste like tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A definite 5-star rating for this one! My husband and I absolutely love this stew! It has a wonderful flavor and is so easy to make. The only thing I've done differently the last several times I've made it is to add an extra can of the tomatoes w/green chili peppers. This gives the stew a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious! Great recipe. I added a clove of chopped garlic, omitted the onions, and added a can of corn. I did have to increase my cooking time. At 1 hour my meat was still super tough, so I let that sit for about an hour and a half total, then added the potatoes, and let it all simmer for another hour. So... 2 1/2 hours total, but worth every second. Served with crusty bread to dip in the stew. MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very easy and has a wonderful flavor! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Awesome! I used pork and chicken broth ... then followed the recipe almost to the letter with the exception of adding an extra can of green chili! I used extra hot rotel and it does have some kick! Spicy and nice! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was excellent! My husband and I have listed this as a personal favorite. I forwarded it to my Mother and it is now a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The only reason I didn't give this five stars is because I use this recipe with fake ground beef (vegetarian). Other than that, it is excellent! It is a delicious stew, especially if you are familiar with New Mexican green chili recipes. As someone who lived in Albuquerque for 6 years and still craves and misses the dishes now that I'm in NY state, this dish serves as a welcome memory. It's warm, spicey, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is pretty good as is but the second time I made a few changes: Added a can of corn, used chicken broth instead of beef, and omitted the tomatoes and just used a can of mild green chilies. Sometimes I add bacon sliced up and brown it with onions. My husband really likes this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My family and I love this recipe! I change it a bit, I use pork and chicken stock. I add coriander and garlic powder (sometimes oregano) as well. For garnishes, we use sour cream, avocado, and I bake corn tortilla strips that I've tossed w/a bit of oil and salt to add something crunchy. Haven't tried it but some cilantro at the end would probably be excellent in here. Awesome as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States