Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've been looking for a good green chili stew since leaving New Mexico a few years ago. This is easy to make and very good. It definitely brings back memories of NM in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was very flavorful and easy to make. Based on other reviews I was not expecting this to be spicy at all but it did have a bite to it and I was hesitant to give it to my 18 month old. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding an additional can of regular diced tomatoes since the can of tom with chilis I had were petite cut. Will make again and maybe try with Pork next time. Thanks! P.S. Made a 2nd time with diced Pork Loin and added a can of corn and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I added corn, green beans, cilantro, used ground turkey instead of beef. I also used fresh green chilies I roasted. I threw everything in a crockpot for 6 hrs. It was great and very healthy. Even with the 6 large chilies I used it wasnt very spicy next time I might use a little jalapeno to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was really good, but I made some alterations. We used 4 butterfly pork chops cubed instead of beef. Cooked it all in a crockpot for about 5 hrs, adding the potatoes about 1.5 hrs. before ready time. I put in 2 cans of Rotel with Lime and Cilantro. 2 cups beef broth. 1/2 can chopped jalapenos and 2 cans green chilis...oh and a can of Pinto beans. Also added 1 tsp. of oregano. My first go round I used the potatoes, but for some reason I decided to try the 2nd day with rice. I picked out the big chunks of potatoes and added some rice and it was wonderful. Next time I will substitute rice for potatoes. This is definitely better the 2nd day. The jalapenos kicked up the spice a notch, so be careful. I absolultely love spicy food and had we added an entire can of chopped jalapenos, we would have been in trouble. Highly recommend this one though and it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I followed the recipe fairly closely. I did use fresh tomatoes and cooked them seperately (homemade version of stewed tomatoes) instead of the Rotel tomatoes. I did not add green pepper/jalapeno to the tomatoes as I was cooking for guests who do not like spicy food. The stew turned out great - not spicy but it had great flavor. I added more potatoes (about 5 medium total) and cooked until the potatoes were very tender and almost mushy. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I thought this was a fine everyday dinner recipe. Very easy. It lacked a little something, but I'll figure that out the next time I make it. I used a very inexpensive cut of beef and it was very tender (Acid from tomatoes) withou having to cook all day or taste like tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A definite 5-star rating for this one! My husband and I absolutely love this stew! It has a wonderful flavor and is so easy to make. The only thing I've done differently the last several times I've made it is to add an extra can of the tomatoes w/green chili peppers. This gives the stew a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious! Great recipe. I added a clove of chopped garlic, omitted the onions, and added a can of corn. I did have to increase my cooking time. At 1 hour my meat was still super tough, so I let that sit for about an hour and a half total, then added the potatoes, and let it all simmer for another hour. So... 2 1/2 hours total, but worth every second. Served with crusty bread to dip in the stew. MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very easy and has a wonderful flavor! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Awesome! I used pork and chicken broth ... then followed the recipe almost to the letter with the exception of adding an extra can of green chili! I used extra hot rotel and it does have some kick! Spicy and nice! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTAYLOR063

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States