Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is exactly like the stew I had in New Mexico. The only change I made was I added 2 diced fresh jalepenos because we like a little extra heat. We fill tortilla shells with the stew mixture and top it with a little cheese and sour cream!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I used "mild" fresh roasted Hatch chilies and wow! My wife took some to her co-workers and they loved it too! Thanks for a great new addition to my family's favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Tasty stew, I'd make again. Omitted the onion and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was OK for us. It needed to cook a lot longer than the recipe stated. In fact, I think it would be a good one for the slow cooker. It tasted fine, but the meat was still a little tough. Didn't taste any thing like the green chili stew I have gotten in NM. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great! I added in canned beans, such as black, pinto and garbonzo beans. Made it yummy and beans are good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri1104

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Easily adaptable recipe - wonderful base, but needs adjustments to personal preference. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very good recipe. Added more cumin and chilis though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This will be come a staple in our house. Gracias, Lynn. I made it mostly as submitted here, just added a piece of pepper bacon to simmer with the stew and I doubled the amount of cumin and included some mild red chile powder along with a pinch of Mexican oregano. I scrubbed the potatoes well and left the skins on before cubing them. This is a great recipe because not only does it taste really good and is easy to prepare, but you could add extra to it, dress it up with grated cheese on top, serve with tortillas, cornbread etc.; it's just great to be able to make a satisfying dish with all needed ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Added 1/2 bag of corn. Ran out of time so skipped the potatoes (would add some Yukon Gold chunks next time). We came home from a movie to this simmering and ready to eat. We really liked this! I added green Tabasco at the table, YUM! Will play with extra spices next time. And there WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPUFFY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've been looking for a good green chili stew since leaving New Mexico a few years ago. This is easy to make and very good. It definitely brings back memories of NM in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States