Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by StardustSteph
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I made this for my boyfriend who is from New Mexico and was missing his childhood favorite. I have never had this before and both of us LOVED it. We had it for dinner one night and ended up making it later in the week because we loved it so much. The only changes I made was I used 2 cans of tomatoes w/ green chili peppers and 2 cans of green chili peppers. I also ended up letting it simmer after I added the potatoes for an hour to hour and half rather than 30 minutes. 5 stars! I'm going to have the rest for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StardustSteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I added fresh chili peppers and jalapeno peppers because it wasn't spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I did this in the slow cooker and took recommendation from another reviewer and put the potatoes in late. Was a mistake because an hour and a half later, they still weren't done. Would either leave out the potatoes or put them in at the start. Excellent flavor and my family loved it. Served with warm flour tortillas. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was quite good. Too spicy for Mike and Jessi though so follow recipie exactly next time! Lots of protein, nice flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It was really flavorful and super easy to make. It did take an hour longer than stated for the meat to get tender which wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Really good! I use this all the time. Kind of a south american alternative to Indian curry. I added red pepper for some more heat and threw in a couple handfulls of Basmati rice during the last 20 minutes to thicken. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This dish was so yummy! my family LOVED this stew, i added green peas and carrots to the stew along with a little corn starch to thicken it up just a bit, and served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mleone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The boyfreind LOVED this. Even bragged to his parnets how good it was. Thanks great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a great dish that I'll definitely make again. The prep time is quick and easy and has great flavor. I only used 1 lb of beef, 2lbs seemed like it would be quite a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe! We served with sour cream and cheese on top as well! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States