Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
yum! i just threw everything in the crockpot.....and it turned out great. i did add garlic, a seeded/chopped jalepeno, and 1 tbls PENZEY"S adobo (cumin/pepper/etc). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was really good! I used less beef and more potatos but the rest I followed the recipe. YUMMY! Kids even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Nice, made it very close to directions. Used pork and beef cubes. Yummy. This is a recipes that makes you want to add something, only b/c it's good and makes you want to get creative, not b/c it was missing something. We will make this again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I had to simmer much longer than 1 hour to get the meat tender. More like 2 hours. I also added garlic instead of garlic salt. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by Tavisha
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this according to the recipe. I didn't change anything; however, I did add to it. I added a large can of white hominy, an extra can of green chiles, and six peeled, chopped carrots. It came out very, very good. Next time, I'm thinking of chopping some cabbage, avacado, and lime slices and dressing it like we do posole. I think it would be perfect for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe to try if you've never made Green Chili Stew before. I did make mine with ground beef rather than beef stew meat or pork and used fresh roasted green chili (living in NM has it's advantages when it comes to getting authentic ingredients for this one!) that I purchased from Sunflower Market. A little tweaking of the spices to suit my personal tastes - I like a lot of garlic - fresh tortillas from a local establishment and we were in total green chili bliss! Suffice it to say I won't really need to be buying from local restaurants as I have found something just as good, if not better! Thanks for posting a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Made this the other night. The only difference I used fresh green chiles and canned tomatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good! I like to use 7oz of green chiles just because I like it really spicy. Sometimes, I'll add corn to it too..but it's good with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
So great! I added worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf for flavor but left out the extra chilies. I also added carrots with the potatoes. This made it less like a Mexican stew and more like pot roast! I also added 2Tbsp. flour to thicken it up at the end. Great base recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StardustSteph
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I made this for my boyfriend who is from New Mexico and was missing his childhood favorite. I have never had this before and both of us LOVED it. We had it for dinner one night and ended up making it later in the week because we loved it so much. The only changes I made was I used 2 cans of tomatoes w/ green chili peppers and 2 cans of green chili peppers. I also ended up letting it simmer after I added the potatoes for an hour to hour and half rather than 30 minutes. 5 stars! I'm going to have the rest for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StardustSteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States