Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
It was pretty tasty, just not exactly what I was expecting. Will try it again with a few variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Delicious stew! I used mild green chili peppers and the flavor of them really came through! We all loved it! I just used a regular can of diced tomatoes and just added in a couple more mild chili peppers. Also I had to use about 2 cups more beef broth. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe was good, but 2 pounds of meat was WAY too much. It was unbelievable how much meat there was compared to the other ingredients. Next time I will scale the meat back to 1 pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
yum! i just threw everything in the crockpot.....and it turned out great. i did add garlic, a seeded/chopped jalepeno, and 1 tbls PENZEY"S adobo (cumin/pepper/etc). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was really good! I used less beef and more potatos but the rest I followed the recipe. YUMMY! Kids even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Nice, made it very close to directions. Used pork and beef cubes. Yummy. This is a recipes that makes you want to add something, only b/c it's good and makes you want to get creative, not b/c it was missing something. We will make this again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I had to simmer much longer than 1 hour to get the meat tender. More like 2 hours. I also added garlic instead of garlic salt. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by Tavisha
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this according to the recipe. I didn't change anything; however, I did add to it. I added a large can of white hominy, an extra can of green chiles, and six peeled, chopped carrots. It came out very, very good. Next time, I'm thinking of chopping some cabbage, avacado, and lime slices and dressing it like we do posole. I think it would be perfect for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe to try if you've never made Green Chili Stew before. I did make mine with ground beef rather than beef stew meat or pork and used fresh roasted green chili (living in NM has it's advantages when it comes to getting authentic ingredients for this one!) that I purchased from Sunflower Market. A little tweaking of the spices to suit my personal tastes - I like a lot of garlic - fresh tortillas from a local establishment and we were in total green chili bliss! Suffice it to say I won't really need to be buying from local restaurants as I have found something just as good, if not better! Thanks for posting a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Made this the other night. The only difference I used fresh green chiles and canned tomatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States