Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The broth of this stew is incredible! I lightly coated my stew meat with a flour/homemade taco seasoning mix before browning in my dutch oven. I also added ~1/4 cup of salsa verde that I needed to finish up. My only comment is that the potatoes, while needed, seem a bit out of place: a bite without potatoes tastes like a mild mexican stew - a bite with the potatoes tastes like a slightly seasoned plain beef stew. I will have to find a way to remedy this because we all really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My husband is from New Mexico and I am a NEW cook.... with that said, this is the first thing he ever asked me to make again!! We used ground beef because that's how his mom used to make it but followed every other step just as is.... this was simply amazing and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rod_R
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yum!!! I used fresh Anaheim green chillies ,homemade beef broth, Rotel tomatoes w/green chili & red potatoes. This is a winner on a cold winter day! Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. It is simple to prepare and oh so good on these cold, snowy days. I pump mine up by adding more green chilies. I use between 6 to 8 small cans of green chilies. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We had to change this recipe up for a vegetarian version but still really good. Replaced canned tomatoes and chile with 13 oz. frozen green chili and one chopped fresh tomato. Also added 1 tsp of fresh chopped garlic and one chopped jalapeno. Used butter instead of oil to give it a good rich flavor. Added the chopped potatoes with the chili so they could cook a good long time. Great served with fresh tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My mother use to make this all the time when we were kids and we loved it so I was looking for an actual recipe since you can't "measure" a true Mexican woman's skills in the kitchen. This turned out to be a decent starter recipe but it's lacking in a few areas. It definitely needs celery and for the amount of meat it calls for, the spices/veggies need to be doubled as well. Not to mention the use of minced garlic instead of powder and adding can of tomato sauce for additional flavor. Also I was very surprised that it only required 1.5 cups of beef broth. I used a whole carton and STILL had to add some water to give it more juice, otherwise it would have been all meat. Either way I made it work and my white husband was satisfied...lol. Overall very soso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I would prefer to give it a 4.5, but can't seem to. LOVED this recipe. Really simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wow, this soup will stand up and kick you! It packs the heat. I made it according to the recipe except I didn't have potatoes, so I added hominy and corn instead. I also used hamburger instead of stew meat. Might only add half the peppers next time, and a quarter of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made two changes. I added 2 cloves of garlic and a can of navy beans instead of potates. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this as written except I used pork because that's what I had in the freezer. This was really good. Hubby said it was a keeper. Although not a 5 star (I reserve that for something that's beyond great) this is really good. Will make again and again. Love the green chili's - we are don't like real spicy (I do, hubby doesn't) and I would have loved it spicier but it was still quite tasty. Thanks, Lynn, for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States