Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My husband is from New Mexico and I am a NEW cook.... with that said, this is the first thing he ever asked me to make again!! We used ground beef because that's how his mom used to make it but followed every other step just as is.... this was simply amazing and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rod_R
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yum!!! I used fresh Anaheim green chillies ,homemade beef broth, Rotel tomatoes w/green chili & red potatoes. This is a winner on a cold winter day! Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. It is simple to prepare and oh so good on these cold, snowy days. I pump mine up by adding more green chilies. I use between 6 to 8 small cans of green chilies. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We had to change this recipe up for a vegetarian version but still really good. Replaced canned tomatoes and chile with 13 oz. frozen green chili and one chopped fresh tomato. Also added 1 tsp of fresh chopped garlic and one chopped jalapeno. Used butter instead of oil to give it a good rich flavor. Added the chopped potatoes with the chili so they could cook a good long time. Great served with fresh tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My mother use to make this all the time when we were kids and we loved it so I was looking for an actual recipe since you can't "measure" a true Mexican woman's skills in the kitchen. This turned out to be a decent starter recipe but it's lacking in a few areas. It definitely needs celery and for the amount of meat it calls for, the spices/veggies need to be doubled as well. Not to mention the use of minced garlic instead of powder and adding can of tomato sauce for additional flavor. Also I was very surprised that it only required 1.5 cups of beef broth. I used a whole carton and STILL had to add some water to give it more juice, otherwise it would have been all meat. Either way I made it work and my white husband was satisfied...lol. Overall very soso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I would prefer to give it a 4.5, but can't seem to. LOVED this recipe. Really simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wow, this soup will stand up and kick you! It packs the heat. I made it according to the recipe except I didn't have potatoes, so I added hominy and corn instead. I also used hamburger instead of stew meat. Might only add half the peppers next time, and a quarter of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made two changes. I added 2 cloves of garlic and a can of navy beans instead of potates. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this as written except I used pork because that's what I had in the freezer. This was really good. Hubby said it was a keeper. Although not a 5 star (I reserve that for something that's beyond great) this is really good. Will make again and again. Love the green chili's - we are don't like real spicy (I do, hubby doesn't) and I would have loved it spicier but it was still quite tasty. Thanks, Lynn, for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a great basic recipe but it's missing a few ingredients that would make it traditional, "New Mexican Green Chili Stew." I say, "New Mexican," since few Mexicans cook soley with fresh green chili's. [they wait for them to ripen for preservation purposes & use primarily red] But after they migrated to the US, this Green Chili Stew became more of a necessary adaptation due to income restrictions. This stew was actually created when Hispanics with large families & limited incomes worked in the Hatch, NM chili fields. Instead of pork or prime cuts of beef, they used hamburger meat though pork shoulder was definitely preferred. [trust me when I say ground cumin & pork go together like helpless women and railroad tracks] Anyway, the more traditional version presents 2 + lbs Hatch Green Chili's, chopped jalapeños, potatoes, hearty amounts of white onions & celery stalks with leaves, loads of cilantro & cumin, (2 + tbs cumin) parsley, generous amounts of garlic, green/red tomatoes, cayenne and black pepper, red pepper flakes, salt, Mexican Oregeno, bay leaves, Italian seasoning & beef/chicken/vegetable/or pork broth & was always served with warm tortillas. Notice that all ingredients were very easy to come by & cheap for Hispanic workers. If pork was used, they would season flour the meat & brown with garden vegetables then place in pot & simmer until the pork fell apart. This method also made for a thicker stew. Either way, it's a delicious stew & great recipe Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Michael O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States