Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My mother use to make this all the time when we were kids and we loved it so I was looking for an actual recipe since you can't "measure" a true Mexican woman's skills in the kitchen. This turned out to be a decent starter recipe but it's lacking in a few areas. It definitely needs celery and for the amount of meat it calls for, the spices/veggies need to be doubled as well. Not to mention the use of minced garlic instead of powder and adding can of tomato sauce for additional flavor. Also I was very surprised that it only required 1.5 cups of beef broth. I used a whole carton and STILL had to add some water to give it more juice, otherwise it would have been all meat. Either way I made it work and my white husband was satisfied...lol. Overall very soso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I would prefer to give it a 4.5, but can't seem to. LOVED this recipe. Really simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wow, this soup will stand up and kick you! It packs the heat. I made it according to the recipe except I didn't have potatoes, so I added hominy and corn instead. I also used hamburger instead of stew meat. Might only add half the peppers next time, and a quarter of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made two changes. I added 2 cloves of garlic and a can of navy beans instead of potates. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this as written except I used pork because that's what I had in the freezer. This was really good. Hubby said it was a keeper. Although not a 5 star (I reserve that for something that's beyond great) this is really good. Will make again and again. Love the green chili's - we are don't like real spicy (I do, hubby doesn't) and I would have loved it spicier but it was still quite tasty. Thanks, Lynn, for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Photo by Ms. Michael O
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a great basic recipe but it's missing a few ingredients that would make it traditional, "New Mexican Green Chili Stew." I say, "New Mexican," since few Mexicans cook soley with fresh green chili's. [they wait for them to ripen for preservation purposes & use primarily red] But after they migrated to the US, this Green Chili Stew became more of a necessary adaptation due to income restrictions. This stew was actually created when Hispanics with large families & limited incomes worked in the Hatch, NM chili fields. Instead of pork or prime cuts of beef, they used hamburger meat though pork shoulder was definitely preferred. [trust me when I say ground cumin & pork go together like helpless women and railroad tracks] Anyway, the more traditional version presents 2 + lbs Hatch Green Chili's, chopped jalapeños, potatoes, hearty amounts of white onions & celery stalks with leaves, loads of cilantro & cumin, (2 + tbs cumin) parsley, generous amounts of garlic, green/red tomatoes, cayenne and black pepper, red pepper flakes, salt, Mexican Oregeno, bay leaves, Italian seasoning & beef/chicken/vegetable/or pork broth & was always served with warm tortillas. Notice that all ingredients were very easy to come by & cheap for Hispanic workers. If pork was used, they would season flour the meat & brown with garden vegetables then place in pot & simmer until the pork fell apart. This method also made for a thicker stew. Either way, it's a delicious stew & great recipe Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Michael O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Wonderful! We loved it! I will make for many years to come. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
We loved this! I added a can of corn, some carrots, and some cayenne pepper and increased the broth to 2 cups. Put it in the slow cooker for 7 hours on low and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
It was pretty tasty, just not exactly what I was expecting. Will try it again with a few variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Delicious stew! I used mild green chili peppers and the flavor of them really came through! We all loved it! I just used a regular can of diced tomatoes and just added in a couple more mild chili peppers. Also I had to use about 2 cups more beef broth. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States