Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Delicious! Everyone gave it a two thumbs up and asked that I make this rather the mainstay beef stew. To kick up the heat, I used original Rotel and canned diced jalapenos rather than the canned green chilis. I also used smoked cumin for a heartier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Ps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I cooked this in my crock pot for 8 hours, used 3 1/2 lbs of meat And added corn, wow my family loved it! None was left! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I had the Frontier Restaurant (Albuquerque, NM) in mind when I made the following modifications: seared small cubed meat, 3 cloves garlic & onions, let them rest & made a rue with 3 tbsp ea. oil and flour, added 1lbs peeled and chopped roasted green chiles & slowly stir in beef broth and spices, then the meat and onions. Simmer, then added small diced potatoes for the last 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Super easy and sooo good,my whole family LOVES it. We have this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee Tapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
*****This was very good we all loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Awesome !!! We especially like this with the small (thin) French green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe. I did change it a little, browned the meat for about 15 minutes, removed. then browned the onion but also added a sliced jalapeno pepper and sliced carrots. I ended up using about 2 1/2 cups of beef broth. Instead of adding the potatoes to the broth I cooked them separately in water with about 3 cloves of garlic. Mashed the potatoes and served the stew over the mashed potatoes. It was great! Next time I will thicken the broth a little. When a recipe turns out well my husband says "Now that is company worthy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
A nice base but skip the can stuff and use fresh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was pretty good with added garlic and a 7-pepper blend when the meat was cooking. I like soft potatoes, so I didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked enough after the full hour and a half cooking, so I extended the cooking time to 2 hours. This would probably be even better in a crock pot. My wife said it was a little warm, so I will avoid the seven pepper blend next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States