Green Chili Chicken Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The burger isn't bad, the guacamole was marginal. Had to doctor the guac up a bit. I had to add a slice of bread that I ran through the food processor for texture since the burger was too mushy to grill. I'd make again, but not as a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
These were so yummy! I felt like I was eating a gourmet specialty burger at a pricey restaurant. The only things I did differently were omitting the jalapeno (because I didn't have any) and I added a diced tomato to the guacamole before blending. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These are delicious! A very nice change from a regular burger. I used ground turkey rather than chicken. Also made a different guacamole recipe from this site b/c this guac seemed a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I'm giving this a 5 based on the ground chicken patty and all the seasonings in it. Tasted Great! I see myself making this again someday. I didn't have all the ingredients for the avocado sauce. So I made a spicy yogurt & lime sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was awesome!!!! First time trying ground chicken and this recipe did not disappoint. Will become a regular at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bresmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Having grown up in NM w/ hispanic grandperents I moved to SC and yurn for the flavors of the southwest. I found this recipe to be very satisfying. Thank you very much Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was good, but I was disappointed that the burgers didn't hold together so well, even with draining the chilies. I used already prepared guacamole instead of making homemade, and topped the burgers with mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. The boyfriend thought it didn't have a lot of flavor, even with all the ingredients! I'll try again, but use less chilies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Although I really enjoyed the burger, I think the oregano was a bit much. My family commented that it tasted a lot like the meatballs I make. Other than that the flavor was good. Maybe its a personal taste, but Im going to double on the green chili peppers and the jalepenos. I couldnt feel the effect of either peppers in the burger- and i know it wasnt spicy, but at least the flavor should have been more prominent. I made my own guacamole because I dont believe that sour cream is needed in a good guac. Other than that I will definitely make this again. It was moist and aside from the strong oregano did taste quite good. Also- instead of cheddar, I think pepperjack is in order to give it more of that southwestern flavor that it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Really good! I made a couple changes because I had some different things in the pantry and also because we like things real spicy! Guacamole: I added a few squeezes fresh lime (or lemon) and a lot of hot salsa, also 1/3 chopped onion and 7 or 8 slices of jalapeno. Burger: 2/3's onion instead of green onion 1/2 tsp chili powder 15 jalapeno slices 1 piece of bread put through food processor I didn't use the green chile's I also used smoked provolone cheese instead instead of cheddar. It was sooooo delicious! Great recipe! Oh ya, also, for the kids I just saved some of the ground chicken and bread crumbs and added some salt and pepper, chicken Worcestershire sauce and Parmesan cheese. I made them in tiny patties and my son said it was the best chicken nugget he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I can't resist making changes to recipes, but this turned out amazing. Used less oregano, salt and garlic. Added a bit of white pepper, green hot sauce and cumin. Left out the black pepper and jalepeno. Added about 6 crushed saltines and an egg. Fried them and served them on pita buns topped with salsa, sour cream, cilantro and sliced avocado. They were spicy and fresh flavoured. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States