Green Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was a really good recipe I would have added maybe a extra pound of hamburger aside from that I made it for my husband and he liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was just okay. It had a good flavor, but it seemed more like a dip than a casserole. I adjusted the recipe to serve 4 because it was just for my husband and me. What resulted barely fed both of us for supper with chips and guacamole on the side. The tortillas didn't seem to serve much purpose. Perhaps if they were toasted first they would make a bigger impact. I thought it was too cheesy (I used Mexican style Veleveta) and I'm not sure how to grate Veleveta, so I diced it instead. I would make this again, but would serve it as a dip or a filler for the tortillas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Easy! And my husband Loved it. As suggested by some of the others I added the onion and chiles to the beef while cooking. Also added some taco seasoning, garlic powder, and cumin. I might try an extra can of chiles next time, but I only had one on hand and it was good that way. I used 4 burrito sized tortillas, and used Golden Mushroom soup as it was on hand. Simple to throw together and instant applause from the husband. I may play with different spices but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My family loved this, but I did change a few things. First, I used regular crushed tortilla chips, doubled the green chilies, and used a cheddar/jack cheese mix instead of the processed American cheese. It was great and a huge family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDRogers06

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haxtun, Colorado, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Has possibility but made the way it states it is too much sauce. Next time I would half the soup and milk and did not even add all the cheese and way too cheesy. I would maybe use 2 c. cheese and I would use tortilla chips. Made the way the recipe states not impressive. I would probably use taco seasoning also as others stated to spice up meat. Would try one more time with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This recipe wasn't disliked by everyone and it wasn't loved either. I liked it and thank you for putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Not good. Sorry the fake cheese ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namaste Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I do about a pound and a half of hamburger and add an extra layer, i switched corn tortillas for flour tortillas. This is an inexpensive and easy recipe to make. I usually have it with spanish rice. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this! I cooked the onions with the meat. Added an extra can of green chiles and used cheddar cheese instead. Next time I may use monterey jack. I also seasoned my meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder. This needs to be doubled for a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
LOVE IT! The original recipe is good, but i prefer things a little more flavorful so I used 2 onions and 2 cans of green chiles. I also garlic and other spices to the ground beef while it was cooking. This dish was refreshing because it doesn't have a tomato base-which can sometimes be overpowering. Instead the creamy "sauce" allows you to taste all the individual ingredients--it's flavorful but subtle, too. I also added a third top layer of corn tortillas with cheddar cheese and then the tomato slices for garnish like the picture. I also changed the order of the layers--from bottom to top i used tortilla, onion, beef, chiles, cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States