Green Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've been making this for at least 30 yrs and still love it! The only changes I make are the following: I use diced canned chiles. Much easier to eat and you don't need a fork. We live in olive country and therefore incorporate them it to many recipes. I take a can of olives and chop them up while in the can. Layering them with the chilies and finally putting them on top of the last of the cheese. Of which I use a lot more cheese than this recipe calls for. Varies according to taste. Just make sure you use REAL cheese . The pre-grated inexpensive cheese will ruin this casserole. Most of al---enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this for breakfast today. It is a perfect canvas to add your own preferred ingredients. I added ground cumin, garlic powder and crushed chilies (de Arbol) to the egg mixture. I used egg substitute and non-fat milk to reduce the fat/cholesterol levels. I served it with sliced avocado and fresh pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dherting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My mom makes this recipe for every party we go to and it's fantastic! Everyone asks her to bring it again and no one ever complains about it. The best part is that she uses the same casserole dish as the one in the picture! hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We had this last night for dinner & loved it! Followed the recipe, except I did not measure the cheese. I just grated a bunch and layered. There was only enough (mild) chilies for 2 layers, or I layered them too close together? I also had to let this cook for an additional 10 minutes, 40 minutes total. It set perfect, not messy or soggy at all. As others have claimed, if you don't LOVE green chilies, you may not care for this. Using the whole chilies, you did get some big bites of them. I paired this with a fruit salad and sourdough loaf with a garlic cheese spread. I will definitely make this again & may use the suggestions of other reviewers by adding sausage or a side of avocado and sour cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delish! But I added cut up slightly browned corn tortillas like a migas Mexican breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was Great! I added a can of corn, I tend to go over board with the cheese but Man who doesn't Love a blanket of warm gooey Cheese?? This goes well with just about any protein and makes a lovely light lunch when you add a tossed salad. Thank You KGNEP This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This was super tasty as written. We made it with Spanish rice and it was wonderful! Thanks for such an easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
really good. I just doubled the recipe and made it two-layered. It was perfect. Will definetly do it again. Instead of milk I used heavy whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I adapted this recipe slightly as follows and it was delicious. 7 oz can diced chilis 1 C shredded cheddar 1 C shredded mozzarella cheese 5 eggs 1/2 cup milk Salt and pepper to taste Combine the chili and cheeses in a bowl then add to greased baking dish. Beat eggs and milk then pour over chili cheese mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Bake as directed. Simple and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States