Green Chile and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this with regular rice. I expected it to be a little spicy and was somewhat disappointed. I will tinker with it. Overall a great place to start for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this since I was in elementary school, I prefer to use cottage cheese rather than sour cream, just gives it that added cheesey flavor i love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was great! I increased the sour cream to 16 ounces and added extra (Ancho) chiles I grew in my garden. Will be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
YUM!!! This was so fantastic! We're not big fans of green chilies so I made my Uncle Ben's rice mix with chopped, fresh jalapeños in my rice cooker and went from there. Didn't use quite so much cheese and it's still cheesy and yummy. Just finished a small bowl for breakfast if that tells you anything. Thanks for a great new side dish! I may add chicken and have a main course next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Really delicious! I didn't have the kind of rice recipe calls for, so I just cooked up 1 cup (raw) white rice(not instant)and then baked as written with the sour cream, cheese and fresh whole green chiles. Can't go wrong with the fresh ones from Hatch! Mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wkburg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
It was easy to make and my family liked it however I didn't like the taste of it. It doesn't really fill you up either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I added cubed chicken to the recipe to make it more like a meal. I also used two large cans of diced green chiles for more flavor and added a little more sour cream to make it creamier. I mixed all the ingredients together instead of layering and added a layer of cheese on top, cooked as directed, and then set the broiler on until the cheese browned up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We all liked this one. Only used about 1/2 the amount of cheese called for and didn't drain the chiles. Mixed together the prepared rice, sour cream and green chiles, poured it in the baking dish and topped with shredded cheese. Then baked it until hot and bubbly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very easy to make. My 9 and 13 year old sons made this dish. I might make it again because it was so easy, but with slight modifications. There is too much sour cream. Some people love sour cream; and that's great, but I don't care for it. I will probably use half the amount of sour cream and mix it with an equal amount of tofu. That will cut the flavor a little bit, but keep the moisture and consistency. Some of my guests said there was too much cheese. It's a heavy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious! (and easy)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States