Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I've made this several times and it's always a HUGE hit! It's very forgiving-- I've used half sour cream and half cottage cheese, at least three different kinds of shredded cheese, added ham, bacon, doubled the chiles, used an even dozen eggs, added jalapeno, etc. etc. and it always turns out phenomenally! We always heat up the leftovers in the microwave (does NOT turn out rubbery), and my husband even zaps a helping and sticks it on toast for his drive to work. It's like a gourmet breakfast sandwich, only without the $5 price tag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
FINALLY! The secret to big fluffy frittatas like I see in the expensive deli's: cottage cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
It is somewhat bland and as others have said, you can hardly taste the chiles. I may try this again as a base, but I will probably just look for a different frittata recipe. O well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is an easy recipe that is absolutely delicious. It's also a great base from which to add other ingredients, as other reviewers have stated. Best of all, you don't have to make it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Delicious and easy! I halved the recipe, except for the green chilies. It makes a great brunch or quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Easy and delicious! I did it according to the recipe with the exception of the cooking time - which was shorter than written by about 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Added vegis and chorizo and left out the butter. Can out really well. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very very good; better than other egg casseroles I've done that contain hashbrowns. I added mushrooms, chopped ham, and a little extra kick with extra dried green chiles and some chipotle powder. Baked in a glass pan and after lowering the temp, it took about 50+ minutes (instead of 35-40 as shown). Outstanding - a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this last night - I left out the butter to cut some fat and added 2 diced tomatoes and some ground pepper. (and maybe was a big generous with the cheddar cheese...) This turned out moist and delicious! I have passed on the recipe to a couple of coworkers who followed their sniffer to my desk after I just warmed some up and was munching away happily At my desk. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe - Melanie! I will keep making this and passing it along to friends and family! *UPDATE* Have been making a more "filling" version for my husband - I buy beef rouladen, cut into thin strips, and stir fry it with a diced onion, I let that cool a bit and then add it to the egg mixture. I microwave a couple of potatoes and peel those, and add that to the casserole dish before I sprinkle cheese on top. He happily devours it, although he hates the idea of cottage cheese, and is not a big egg-fan. Thanks Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States