Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I have found this one pleases the "picky" or non-adventurous eaters. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Pretty good -not the texture or flavor I was looking for. I usually make a green chile quiche as part of Christmas brunch, but was looking to cut out some fat and carbs with no crust. This needs a little tweaking, garlic powder, hot sauce, more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've made this recipe several times and it's terrific exactly as written. This weekend I put a different spin on it. The resulting "Vegetable Frittata" was a huge hit. ~ I was looking for an egg dish that had fresh veggies in it. I found a highly rated Vegetable Frittata on AllRecipes that contained sauteed zucchini, mushroom, onion and bell pepper. However, this recipe also contained lots of cream cheese, half & half and other rich ingredients. While I'm SURE it was wonderful, it also had about 40 grams of fat per serving. ~ I was wanting something a little healthier. I followed this recipe as I always do, only I sauteed the veggies as instructed in the OTHER recipe, and used them in place of the green chiles. ~ I mixed and bake the dish as instructed in this recipe. Swapping the veggies for the green chiles was my ONLY alteration. The dish was a HUGE hit -- my father-in-law AND my hubby (who's not a fan of zucchini) went back twice for more. ~ From now on, I'll alternate between the original recipe and my new "veggie frittata" version. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Perfect, no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I added turkey sausage, a can of diced potatoes and topped it with cilantro and sour cream for a light dinner last night. I used fat free cheddar and cottage cheese and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I used 12 egg whites and four whole eggs, fat free cottage cheese, and fat free cheddar cheese. It had a lot of flavor, considering I used so many fat free products. The serving sizes were larger than I expected them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A Big Hit! I was skeptical, because I hate cottage cheese & have never heard of using it in an egg casserole recipe. Needing an egg dish that’s healthier than the type that sits overnight (with bread & tons of cheese, etc), I tried this. Great taste and texture – just like the ‘overnight’ type I always enjoy. To make it a bit healthier, half of the eggs I used were just egg-whites, and I added sautéed onions & mushrooms. The recipe tasted rich, even with the low-fat cheeses. People raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Very good! So nice to have a breakfast casserole you don't have to put together the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
The whole family loved it! I added frozen New Mexico chiles instead of canned (and probably more than 7oz--I like it stong). Definately make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
YUMMY! I remember my aunt making this when I was a kid and I loved it then. I am so glad the recipe was posted! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States