Green Chile Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I think I would have given this more of a 4.5 score. It was really good. I used 1 jalapeno instead of the habanero peppers. Too spicy for the kids to eat but my husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
YUMMY! I lived for many years in NM, this is close to my *comfort food* green chili chicken stew! I omit the habanero & use a cup of fresh roasted Hatch green chili. I am sometimes lazy & use a rotisserie chicken. Instead of plain stewed tomatoes, I use a can of spicy Ro-Tel. *hint* use masa to thicken instead of flour. Minor change, but OH makes the flavor better! Be sure and serve with fresh, warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONA64

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Mixed reviews at our house, will be a one-timer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great recipe..I added a can of cream of celery soup and a can of corn niblets. No Habernero used red pepper as well as a sliced red pepper for color...Booyow! Gud eatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
REally great recipe, but I leave out the tomatoes and add more green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This soup great! I made this in a normal pot and used only 2 Habeneros. It was still very spicy! I can't imagine what it would have been like if I used 4. I didn't use the flour at the end because I didn't think it needed it. Served with a lime wedge and cilantro as garnish. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I thought this was really good! I did do things slightly different. I used turkey instead of chicken. I made a turkey dinner over new year's weekend and instead of picking the leftover turkey off the bones once we were done eating on it, I just put the whole thing in the freezer. To make this stew, I pulled the leftover turkey out and made the broth with that. I followed the recipe for the rest, except the store only had 1 habanero the day I went shopping, so I used 1 habanero, 1 very mild jalapeno and 3 medium hot serranos (slim pickins at the grocery store that day!). My stew turned out thick and stew-like and very yummy. The only problem is, it made sooooo much. I think next time, once I have made the broth, I will freeze 1/2 of it and then halve the rest of the recipe. I'm afraid to freeze it once I've added the potatoes...I've never had luck freezing dishes with potatoes in them. I also think next time I could add more tomatoes and green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Loved boiling the chicken in the spices, approx 9 cups water for 4 lbs, added a little chicken bouillion for richer broth . I used chicken thighs and cooked w/lid on, it only took about 45 min. Wasnt scared of the habaneros even tho I can't handle the heat! Used 2 cans Rotel instead of fresh tomatoes. I added all the vegetables to the broth and cooked, lid on, about 15 min then added the habaners and chicken. Keeping the lid on kept the flavors in and faster cooking. I thickened with a bit of the broth and cornmeal first stirred into a past. It came out nice and thick, nothing was soggy and only a bit of warmth felt. yummy and just what I needed for my headache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was skeptical about this recipe because of the habanero. My husband was so sure that it was going to be way too hot. When I chopped them up, I made sure to get out all of the seeds. It left the soup with a nice little kick but not too much. Even my 18-month-old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I liked the recipe, but made a few changes. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and added 3 bouillon cubes, to help add flavor. I also added 2 cans of green chiles and rotel tomatoes., but left out the habaneros. We really liked it, but next time I will add more green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States