Green Chile Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
super easy to make. I used canned chicken and canned mild green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This is terrific! I did use canned chilies and I boiled chicken and made my own broth. I sauteed onion with the butter and used half & half instead of milk. (What can I say? I have a bad cold and wanted fattening food.) I also did add some potatoes. I hate it when I change things before the review, but I bet the original would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a wonderful soup, but I found it lacking in complexity of flavor and texture, so I added sauteed green bell pepper stips and sauteed onion strips. Cutting the onion vertically rather than into rings helps it to hold its shape better and add more texture to the soup. Also, I found that I needed to UP the ante a bit on the flavor, so I added more chopped green chiles along with dried red chile flakes and dried green chile flakes. While he soup is simmering, I taste it frequently so that I can adjust seasonings. This soup base is a great starting place for a truly wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Wonderful soup!! I do add the potatoes that was in a suggestion, but no other changes are needed. My husband even bragged about this soup to his mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I read many of the reviews and added onion, real garlic, potatoes and carrots as suggested by many. Let it all simmer in a crock pot. Thick and creamy for sure. I was slightly disappointed in the flavor, I'm thinking hotter chillis will bring it to life. Garnished with sour cream and tortilla strips and enjoyed the soup none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
very easy to make. My husband is very picky and he said "this is definitely a keeper"... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Ooh, this is so good! Enjoy it with some fresh, fluffy flour tortillas, and make sure you're using the right kind of chiles. (What kind? Keep reading.) This is meant to be made with New Mexico green chiles, which are mostly grown in Hatch, NM. (Many say Hatch Green Chiles right on the container.) The canned ones usually have little or no heat, and often very little flavor except that "canned" flavor. If you can find jarred or frozen green chiles (like those from 505 or Bueno), those are WAY better. They range from Mild (little or no heat) to Hot, which is not for the faint of heart. I highly recommend jars of 505 Southwestern Medium Green Chiles for the average person. They have lots of flavor, just the right amount of heat, and few skins (which the frozen ones seem to abound in). I reduced the amount of flour to equal the amount of butter, and added a good bit of onions and garlic (or you can use their powdered versions, if you prefer). If your soup seems bland, add some chicken bouillon or more onion, garlic, or green chiles. (I doubled the green chiles for mine.) For the person who said it burned going down, you probably used the wrong "green" chile. In some places, jalapenos may be the only "green" chiles you can find, but the color doesn't make them GREEN CHILES. Jalapenos are usually hotter than green chiles and don't have the same flavor. (Or maybe you just need to let your soup cool down before you take a bite.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make. I added cooked potatoes and used leftover chicken from a previous dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy Brandon Florez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was really good - I like it hot so I used roasted Hatch chile and doubled the amount. I also used a clove of garlic rather than the garlic powder. Next time I will use a little less flour or more broth because it was a little thicker than I would like, but the taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really yummy. You will have to thin out any leftovers with a little milk when you re-heat it. I never heard of this soup before but I like green chilis so I thought I would try it. It is very rich but I will be making this again. Next time I think I will add some onion, carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States