Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I love this receipe, I used whole can chillies and cooked them on the stove top to just get out some of the moisture and my bread wasn't mushy at all. I also used a Samuel Adams Octobefest beer. I will definatly make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I don't like chilis.. So I used zero chilis..... I simple used this as a cheese bread recipe and I enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This didn't work out too well for me. I am not the greatest baker, so that's my fault. But I found this to be a little too bland for my liking. I used "salami cheese" from Mouse Haus in Wisconsin, and my own fresh cayenne peppers, finely diced (I used 5 good sized ones). I'm not sure where I went wrong. I might try this again sometime, though. I like the idea of beer, cheese, and chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by ccmnej
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Did not blend cheese or chiles. Used Guinness Stout. Smells great and has a good flavor, but too strong for me. May need to use a lighter beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmnej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I don't know about this. I can't give it a 4 because I really didn't like it. But I don't want to give it a real low rating either. I don't like beer, so I don't know if it had anything to do with it. I had some IPA left over from a visiting friend. Was too much a beer taste/smell. Can barely taste anything else. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I had good results with this bread. Note for those using canned chilies: If you use a brand that's watery mush, the flavor will be fine, but your bread will be soggy unless you compensate by decreasing the beer a bit. Mine were watery, mushy chilies, and I decreased the beer by about 2-3 ounces. I'd also suggest using extra-sharp Cheddar cheese and drizzling the top with about 2-3 tbsp. melted butter before baking. The recipe doesn't state this, but one of the most important things about making beer bread is not to overwork the batter - just stir gently until there are no dry spots remaining. Let the batter be lumpy and it'll come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My bread was also mushy in the middle but I believe it's because my green chiles were too watery. The bread tasted fantastic though so I will make again. Next time I will use 2 cans of whole green chiles, drained and patted dry, then diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe was nearly effortless and turned out perfectly. I used the AR formula for "self-rising flour", and made 1 of the 3 cups whole wheat flour. Also didn't puree the cheese & chiles, just shredded and chopped finely. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I had better results than some here... I used a home brewed beer (a medium ale), did a heaping cup of sharp cheddar and one can of green chiles (drained). The bread was heavier than I expected, but delivered decent flavour, but the hint of ale really made it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am honestly not sure about this - it was easy to make and didn't taste BAD, I just wasn't wowed and neither was my husband who loves chiles. I'll keep the recipe around, and perhaps try the idea of chopping my own chiles instead of using canned. So jury is still out on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States