Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I love this receipe, I used whole can chillies and cooked them on the stove top to just get out some of the moisture and my bread wasn't mushy at all. I also used a Samuel Adams Octobefest beer. I will definatly make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Loved this! I used a 7oz can of green chilies that I drained. I didn't blend the chilies & cheese (not sure why you would need to do that). Cooked up perfectly in 1 hr & I can't quit eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have now made this several times. I prefer NOT to blend the chilies and cheese and I like the looks of the cheese strips in the bread. Have tried several different beers and frankly can't tell the difference. Make darn sure you use Self Rising, was out once and tried regular flour for a super flop. I also add lots of toasted pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My bread was also mushy in the middle but I believe it's because my green chiles were too watery. The bread tasted fantastic though so I will make again. Next time I will use 2 cans of whole green chiles, drained and patted dry, then diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I kept the green chilies in pieces. Good flavor! I also used the recipe for self rising flour from AR to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe was nearly effortless and turned out perfectly. I used the AR formula for "self-rising flour", and made 1 of the 3 cups whole wheat flour. Also didn't puree the cheese & chiles, just shredded and chopped finely. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I cut the recipe and half and since I still ran out of self-rising flour, I substituted about 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and a dash of baking powder for the remainder. It still came out very well - My family ate the whole loaf in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I used a can of cheap beer (it's all we had at the time and I really wanted to make beer bread) and it was amazing. My husband and my dad loved this bread fresh from the oven, and later that night my husband's best friend came over and just about finished off the entire loaf and asked for the recipe! I thought that using the blender was just going to be a hassle and create extra dishes to wash, but it was totally worth it. Can't wait to make it again and again! It was also pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
this bread is awesome!! i made it with whole wheat flour and it is still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was a VERY good quick bread. Thanks to Scottdog for reviewing it on the forum & posting such a yummy pic on AR! I admit that it was pretty wet & the two smaller loaves that I made had to be turned over so the bottoms wouldn’t overbrown & the middles could finish cooking. You can do one of two things to avoid this. Either use less beer or chop your own chiles. Pre-chopped chiles have liquid that is difficult to drain entirely. Thanks for posting this one:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States