Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was a VERY good quick bread. Thanks to Scottdog for reviewing it on the forum & posting such a yummy pic on AR! I admit that it was pretty wet & the two smaller loaves that I made had to be turned over so the bottoms wouldn’t overbrown & the middles could finish cooking. You can do one of two things to avoid this. Either use less beer or chop your own chiles. Pre-chopped chiles have liquid that is difficult to drain entirely. Thanks for posting this one:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Loved this! I used a 7oz can of green chilies that I drained. I didn't blend the chilies & cheese (not sure why you would need to do that). Cooked up perfectly in 1 hr & I can't quit eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Though I read the "mushy" reviews, I decided to try this recipe anyway because it sounded tasty. WRONG. I had the same awful results as the other two who left a negative reviews. The bread was golden brown on the outside, but very mushy and unappealing on the inside. I've made a few breads recently and this was by far the worst. It wasn't even edible. :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiadarling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
No self rising flour so made mine with baking powder and salt. I used a good ol' Busch beer for this bread, as I've always found that the cheaper beers make the best beer bread. I also used Cracker Barrel's 2% sharp white because that's what I had on hand. With most beer breads that I make, I drizzled two tbsp. of melted butter over the top before baking. This came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I'm sure that I did something wrong but for the life of me I can't figure out what it was. Will try it again one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I make this all the time. I use whatever beer I have on hand. I've used cold beer and warm beer. Same to me no matter what I use. I don't blend anything, just dump in some shredded cheese sometimes, sometimes some garlic powder. Sometimes both sometimes neither. Easy easy and I've never had a flop. Always crusty on top and done in the middle. I don't know why the one had hers come out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have now made this several times. I prefer NOT to blend the chilies and cheese and I like the looks of the cheese strips in the bread. Have tried several different beers and frankly can't tell the difference. Make darn sure you use Self Rising, was out once and tried regular flour for a super flop. I also add lots of toasted pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I kept the green chilies in pieces. Good flavor! I also used the recipe for self rising flour from AR to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
this bread is awesome!! i made it with whole wheat flour and it is still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I follow the directions and used high end beer. my bread was mush on the inside too. sad. I wont use it again but I liked the idea of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tirzah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States