Green Chile Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WE LOVE THESE. No, really. I thought we were the only family who made them this way. It comes out like carnitas. I use my own homemade taco seasoning and Campbell's beef broth. Always a hit. NOTE: This also works with chicken and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I used this recipe as a starting point. I like to create my own varaitations. I had a plan to slow cook a beef chuck roast with some green enchilada sauce. This recipe gave me the idea to add the broth which I definately recommend for flavor as well as moisture. I buy low sodium because the sauce and taco mix already have enough. From another recipe I used half a chopped onion to line the bottom, placed the roast on top and added the enchilada sauce and a can of green chili's, broth and topped with cilantro. This made some wonderful meat to be used in burritos taco, enchilada's or just over rice and beans. It was not spicy so add some heat if you like or simply eat with hot sauce as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellyMel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This looked interesting, so with a pot-roast in hand and no desire to break out the Lipton + C of M soup, I gave it a try. What can I say except EASY and delicious. Served it the first day as soft tacos. Leftovers went into an enchilada-casserole thing that DH favors. I plan to try this next with a pork shoulder roast and call it M's Easy Carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Gotta love it...4 ingredients. I was trimming this roast...very dense, firm and what I felt would be inedible. I used ONLY the listed ingredients.... extremely RARE for me but I restrained myself. In absence of the bi-focals I left it in the crock-pot for 14 hours rather than 4. That inedible piece of meat is the tastiest thing I've eaten in a long time. The beef soaked up all the broth and salsa and although I like it hot, the spiciness was evened out by the extended cooking. Next on the list is chicken and pork. As stated in prior reviews, this can be used in many different dishes....tacos, enchilladas, salads, flautas. Simple and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I have to say right off the bat that this recipe needs to cook a LOT longer than 4 hours on low. At 4 hours it wasn't nearly ready to shred. At 6 hours it was closer and then by 8 hours it was good to go. (I am really glad I started it at 5 AM for dinner that night.) I used mild green salsa and I should have used medium or hot. My chuck roast was 2 1/2 lbs, I used the full amount of salsa and taco seasoning and only one can of broth. (I could have used less broth and it would have been fine.) I did layer thick slices of onion on the bottom of the crock pot & then fished them out before I added the shredded beef back into the juices. Next time I will use a hotter salsa and add a couple of whole jalapenos and a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I changed nothing in this recipe as far as what the recipe called for to make. I decided instead of using jar green salsa and taco seasoning. I'd make mine fresh and use equivalent measurements it asked for to stay true to the recipe. What I found that others were talking about how, 4 hours wasn't enough time to cook the meat. And will agree to that. There is no way 5 pounds of meat being a chuck roast will cook in a slow cooker in 4 hours. Mine was done in 7. I feel there was too much broth mixture in when it was done, I did shred the meat and place it back in the broth, but I strained out about a cup and a half of the broth and reserved it to the freezer for another time. The meat held no flavor as it was in the broth. My family said it was fine but I thought it was ok. Sorry, it's not something I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
All I can say is WOW these are amazing!!! I used a smaller roast and used 1 can beef broth and half a jar of picante sauce instead of the green salsa and that was the only change I made. I will be making these again, the husband loved these also!!! thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Such an easy recipe. Just throw it all in the slow cooker. I cooked it for about 6-8 hours it wasn't really shreddable at 4 hours. Also, I would imagine you can use any salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out superb. I may or may not make a few modifications in the future, but for the first time it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States