Green Chile Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Good Recipe but expensive. Need to find a better deal on the chuck roast. Did not make a lot of meat with 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made it for dinner tonight. I didn't actually change anything much! I only had about a 2.5 pound roast and I remembered this recipe too late to put into the slow cooker. Based on the reviews and my family's taste, here' what I did: I started by pouring about 1/2 the bottle of green salsa into my roaster pan, sprinkled that with taco seasoning, added a small amount of ground red pepper, put roast in pan and topped with more taco seasoning and the rest of the green salsa. I only added about 1/2 can or so of beef broth; I figured I'd check it as it cooked to see if it needed more (it didn't). Anyway, covered, flipped once about halfway through. The meat was really tasty; however, I don't think 5 pounds of meat would have had much taste, I used half that and 16 ounces salsa and the packet of taco seasoning. Served as (I guess it's what you'd call them) soft tacos on large flour tortillas with sour cream and shredded Mex cheese blend. Will make again! I also wish I'd had some cilantro on hand as one reviewer mentioned adding that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband said that this is the best dinner I have ever served! It was extremely tasty! It was just the two of us but there were no leftovers. I did have to turn the crockpot up to high, though. Low wasn't getting the meat "shreddable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This has become one of our favorite recipes! We cook on low in a slow cooker while at work (8hours). We freeze or use the leftover meat later in the week to make amazing beef nachos. Thanks for the recipe - we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is easy, and tastes great. We froze the left over beef, then made enchiladas a couple weeks later. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These were amazing! I added white onion as another reviewer suggested and 1 jalapeno, leaving half the seeds in. Next time I will add all the seeds from jalapeno and add 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Awesome! I used my pressure cooker so was quicker. I served it over cornbread garnished with pico de gillo, guac, and shredded cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
After 4 hours on low had to cook 2 more hours on high to render the beef shred-ready. Probably should just do this for 4 hours on high from the start. When done the meat doesn't absorb the flavor. There was way too much liquid, so I strained it, added a dash of garlic powder, black pepper, chili powder and cumin to taste and then simmered it for 15 minutes. Then added a cornstarch-water slurry to thicken into a spicy "gravy". I added some (not all) of this to the shredded meat to flavor and moisten. Made taco and topped with shredded cheddar, sour cream and homemade pico de gallo. Not bad, but it tasted like a spicy pot roast taco. Doubtful I'll make again, but thanks for putting it out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
excelent and easy, I made it in a pressure cooker done in about an hour. Save the juices for a soup stock after. I also used a couple of different salsas along with the green salsa. I then used the leftover meat mixture to make quasadillas the next day and everyone loved them as well. Got alot of requests for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Mild flavor with so many uses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States