Green Chile Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Cooked as is, it seemed not very flavorful. I used all ingredients listed and added the following extras: chopped bell pepper and onion, two teaspoons cumin, 1 crushed garlic clove and 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon and cooked for 6 hours. After shredding the meat I put it back in the crock pot with the juices for another hour.It was out of this world fabulous. My kids and hubby kept commenting on how good it smelled while cooking and they all went back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I agree with the others as far as cooking time goes. It should really be 8 hours for that amount of meat. I have made this at least six times and it is loved by all. The only modifications I made was to only use one can of broth and add diced Ortega chiles and three jalapeño peppers that were sliced in half. The peppers add the kick the original recipe was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I bought a chuck roast at the store and needed a recipe. So when I found this, figured I'd give it a shot. Mine was only 2.5 lbs, but I still used the full packet of taco seasoning, can of beef broth and 16 oz of Salsa Verde. I did add 4 tbsp of diced green chiles to it also. I made this in my dutch oven, and even in that on a steady medium setting, it did take 5-6 hours till the meat was tender enough to shred. However, we loved the finished product. Will definitely be making this a regular staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Easy and delicious! But I cooked mine a LOT longer than 4 hours (closer to 8). I also used extra spicy taco seasoning with a small jar of diced jalapeno peppers which was too hot, but I still couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My husband and I loved this! We ate it in taco shells, but I would also use it as filling for enchiladas or fajitas. I cooked it while I was at work, so it was on low for about 10 hours like all of my crockpot meals are. It was perfectly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I had made French Dip Sandwiches the day before and had a lot of beautifully seasoned shredded chuck and broth left over. Instead of green salsa, I added a tiny can of green chilies, a packet of taco seasoning mix and some of the well-seasoned broth from the French Dip sandwiches. I put all the ingredients in a pot on the stove, since everything was already cooked, and just let it simmer while I heated up the tortilla's, shredded some Cheddar, finely sliced some lettuce, diced a tomato, pulled out the sour cream and dinner was amazing. Really wish I had taken a picture of our taco masterpiece but by the time I thought of it, over half was already gone! We will definitely do this again. Good way to use up shredded beef when there are only 2 of you and I've never seen a one pound chuck roast...ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was awesome. Super easy and the whole family loved it. We made burritos with the meat and then added avocado, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Good Recipe but expensive. Need to find a better deal on the chuck roast. Did not make a lot of meat with 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made it for dinner tonight. I didn't actually change anything much! I only had about a 2.5 pound roast and I remembered this recipe too late to put into the slow cooker. Based on the reviews and my family's taste, here' what I did: I started by pouring about 1/2 the bottle of green salsa into my roaster pan, sprinkled that with taco seasoning, added a small amount of ground red pepper, put roast in pan and topped with more taco seasoning and the rest of the green salsa. I only added about 1/2 can or so of beef broth; I figured I'd check it as it cooked to see if it needed more (it didn't). Anyway, covered, flipped once about halfway through. The meat was really tasty; however, I don't think 5 pounds of meat would have had much taste, I used half that and 16 ounces salsa and the packet of taco seasoning. Served as (I guess it's what you'd call them) soft tacos on large flour tortillas with sour cream and shredded Mex cheese blend. Will make again! I also wish I'd had some cilantro on hand as one reviewer mentioned adding that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband said that this is the best dinner I have ever served! It was extremely tasty! It was just the two of us but there were no leftovers. I did have to turn the crockpot up to high, though. Low wasn't getting the meat "shreddable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States