Green Chile Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Thanks for this basic recipe which I made today. I used my pressure cooker to make this, I seasoned and browned the roast first, then added all the ingredients and cooked at medium pressure for about 30 min. for a 2+ lb. roast. VERY tender, shredded perfectly, very moist. Other than cooking method, I followed recipe exactly (except that I make my own taco seasoning with less salt) I think everyone's version of this will be different depending on what salsa you use, but my tip is to cook the roast in smaller sections, not whole, so that the juice & spices cook into more of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
every body loved them the whole party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I just tried this for dinner today. It's definitely easy and it tastes good, too. I used lean meat(London broil)?? and it was about 3lbs. I used a whole jar of green salsa but used only half of enchilada seasoning(I was out of taco seasoning and I was afraid that it might be a bit too salty if I put a whole packet of it.) and about 1.5-2 Cs of beef broth(I measured the first cup but I added a bit more just to cover up the beef so I'm not sure how much more that was exactly) and it came out good. I think I definitely prefer green salsa over red one. This one was very similar to carnita recipe from here but much easier and less ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Cooked as is, it seemed not very flavorful. I used all ingredients listed and added the following extras: chopped bell pepper and onion, two teaspoons cumin, 1 crushed garlic clove and 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon and cooked for 6 hours. After shredding the meat I put it back in the crock pot with the juices for another hour.It was out of this world fabulous. My kids and hubby kept commenting on how good it smelled while cooking and they all went back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I agree with the others as far as cooking time goes. It should really be 8 hours for that amount of meat. I have made this at least six times and it is loved by all. The only modifications I made was to only use one can of broth and add diced Ortega chiles and three jalapeño peppers that were sliced in half. The peppers add the kick the original recipe was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I bought a chuck roast at the store and needed a recipe. So when I found this, figured I'd give it a shot. Mine was only 2.5 lbs, but I still used the full packet of taco seasoning, can of beef broth and 16 oz of Salsa Verde. I did add 4 tbsp of diced green chiles to it also. I made this in my dutch oven, and even in that on a steady medium setting, it did take 5-6 hours till the meat was tender enough to shred. However, we loved the finished product. Will definitely be making this a regular staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Reeves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Easy and delicious! But I cooked mine a LOT longer than 4 hours (closer to 8). I also used extra spicy taco seasoning with a small jar of diced jalapeno peppers which was too hot, but I still couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My husband and I loved this! We ate it in taco shells, but I would also use it as filling for enchiladas or fajitas. I cooked it while I was at work, so it was on low for about 10 hours like all of my crockpot meals are. It was perfectly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I had made French Dip Sandwiches the day before and had a lot of beautifully seasoned shredded chuck and broth left over. Instead of green salsa, I added a tiny can of green chilies, a packet of taco seasoning mix and some of the well-seasoned broth from the French Dip sandwiches. I put all the ingredients in a pot on the stove, since everything was already cooked, and just let it simmer while I heated up the tortilla's, shredded some Cheddar, finely sliced some lettuce, diced a tomato, pulled out the sour cream and dinner was amazing. Really wish I had taken a picture of our taco masterpiece but by the time I thought of it, over half was already gone! We will definitely do this again. Good way to use up shredded beef when there are only 2 of you and I've never seen a one pound chuck roast...ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was awesome. Super easy and the whole family loved it. We made burritos with the meat and then added avocado, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States