Green Chile Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was good but not I-can't-wait-to-make-it-again good. I followed the recipe except that I had to let it cook all day, about 12 hrs. The meat was nice and tender but the flavors were nothing remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I changed nothing in this recipe as far as what the recipe called for to make. I decided instead of using jar green salsa and taco seasoning. I'd make mine fresh and use equivalent measurements it asked for to stay true to the recipe. What I found that others were talking about how, 4 hours wasn't enough time to cook the meat. And will agree to that. There is no way 5 pounds of meat being a chuck roast will cook in a slow cooker in 4 hours. Mine was done in 7. I feel there was too much broth mixture in when it was done, I did shred the meat and place it back in the broth, but I strained out about a cup and a half of the broth and reserved it to the freezer for another time. The meat held no flavor as it was in the broth. My family said it was fine but I thought it was ok. Sorry, it's not something I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I agree with other reviewers. I don't know how this could cook in the slow cooker for 4 hours. Mine took 6-1/2 hours and then sat in the warmer another 45 minutes. Definitely leave yourself more time to prepare. I used a jar of hot green jalapeno salsa. I thought it was going to be very spicy and flavorful. I was disappointed in the flavor. Most of the spice & heat seemed to dissipate in the beef broth. If I made this again - I would have make several adjustments to fit our taste. 1/14/12 Just wanted to add a note. Still didn't have the heat and spice we liked, but, after the shredded beef sat in the sauce overnight - it had much better flavor the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I have to say right off the bat that this recipe needs to cook a LOT longer than 4 hours on low. At 4 hours it wasn't nearly ready to shred. At 6 hours it was closer and then by 8 hours it was good to go. (I am really glad I started it at 5 AM for dinner that night.) I used mild green salsa and I should have used medium or hot. My chuck roast was 2 1/2 lbs, I used the full amount of salsa and taco seasoning and only one can of broth. (I could have used less broth and it would have been fine.) I did layer thick slices of onion on the bottom of the crock pot & then fished them out before I added the shredded beef back into the juices. Next time I will use a hotter salsa and add a couple of whole jalapenos and a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Such an easy recipe. Just throw it all in the slow cooker. I cooked it for about 6-8 hours it wasn't really shreddable at 4 hours. Also, I would imagine you can use any salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WE LOVE THESE. No, really. I thought we were the only family who made them this way. It comes out like carnitas. I use my own homemade taco seasoning and Campbell's beef broth. Always a hit. NOTE: This also works with chicken and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Really good, my family really enjoyed these! I made a bit too mild. I will definitely try them again and spice them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
this is sooooo gooood.. i have done this with beef and pork both are DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I didn't have green salsa, so I sub. a small can of diced green chilies and 1/2 jar of regular salsa. This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States