Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by james_nac
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
My first attempt at Mexican and it was really easy. A good base recipe. Next time, I think I'll use more cheese (maybe 12 oz) than called for. I added fresh spinach to a few which worked were great. I had fun experimenting and not making all 12 the same, trying adding this or that to this one and that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This had a good flavor. The grocery store only had the green sauce in the yellow can and it was way too mild. Next time i will try a different sauce. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are SO easy and delicious! Fast if you use a rotisserie chicken. A STRONG five stars!!! I agree with a few of the other reviews that suggest Las Palmas green enchilada sauce, Muy Bueno!!! I also tried this recipe with lean pieces of pork cooked all day in the crockpot with onion and spices (rather than chicken), very nice :) Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were great enchiladas. I did substitute pepper jack cheese for the Monterey Jack. It did make it a little spicier, and no extra work. El Pato has a new green sauce that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Awesome! Instead of rice, I made a salad with shredded lettuce and made dressing using salsa and sour cream. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I used pepper jack cheese sliced thin, and added 1 homegrown jalapeno pepper to the chicken. This was smoking hot. I only had mozzerella and six italian cheese blend, but that was fine. We only had Old El Paso 28 oz green enchilada sauce available, but it was good. The package of tortillas had 8 in it, so the individual enchiladas were very big. Still, even though I overdid it on the heat, they were great. Easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this as a meal instead of going to the obligitory Mexican restaurant for Cinco de Mayo. I used a rotisserie chicken, and the Las Palmas brand green enchilada sauce. I also sauteed a package of the frozen onion and three pepper mix, and added it to the chicken mixture. I then added a dallop of cream cheese, 3/4 cup quesadilla queso, and maybe 1/4 cup of the green sauce to the mixture. Then I finished the dish as directed (but still used quesadilla queso instead of the Monterey Jack).My husband and I both thought it could have used a bit more spice. He does NOT like spicy food, so that should tell you how mild this dish is as written. Next time, I will add some green chiles and cumin to the mix. My husband also thought the consistancy of the flour tortillas were gummy once they soaked in the green sauce. His personal preference has always been corn tortillas. I think he just thinks that flour tortillas in general are gummy, so I don't fault the recipe for that. I personally enjoyed the consistancy, and think the dish came out well. Will definitely make this again, with the added tweaks to make the dish a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
enchiladas with flour tortillas? that's a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I live in the southwest and enchiladas are always made with corn tortillas. It makes the world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Add cream cheese to this to make it exceptional! Cook the chicken in low sodium chicken broth, then after it cools, dice or shred and add cream cheese to the chicken along with spices of your choice and heat in a skillet until cream cheese melts. Then fill with corn tortillas, not flour for a much better taste! Before filling the corn tortilla, dip it in hot, hot oil for about 5 seconds to soft it up. Every time I make these I get at least 10 people that want the recipe. I also prefer Old El Paso green chile enchilada sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States