Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are SO easy and delicious! Fast if you use a rotisserie chicken. A STRONG five stars!!! I agree with a few of the other reviews that suggest Las Palmas green enchilada sauce, Muy Bueno!!! I also tried this recipe with lean pieces of pork cooked all day in the crockpot with onion and spices (rather than chicken), very nice :) Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were great enchiladas. I did substitute pepper jack cheese for the Monterey Jack. It did make it a little spicier, and no extra work. El Pato has a new green sauce that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Awesome! Instead of rice, I made a salad with shredded lettuce and made dressing using salsa and sour cream. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I used pepper jack cheese sliced thin, and added 1 homegrown jalapeno pepper to the chicken. This was smoking hot. I only had mozzerella and six italian cheese blend, but that was fine. We only had Old El Paso 28 oz green enchilada sauce available, but it was good. The package of tortillas had 8 in it, so the individual enchiladas were very big. Still, even though I overdid it on the heat, they were great. Easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this as a meal instead of going to the obligitory Mexican restaurant for Cinco de Mayo. I used a rotisserie chicken, and the Las Palmas brand green enchilada sauce. I also sauteed a package of the frozen onion and three pepper mix, and added it to the chicken mixture. I then added a dallop of cream cheese, 3/4 cup quesadilla queso, and maybe 1/4 cup of the green sauce to the mixture. Then I finished the dish as directed (but still used quesadilla queso instead of the Monterey Jack).My husband and I both thought it could have used a bit more spice. He does NOT like spicy food, so that should tell you how mild this dish is as written. Next time, I will add some green chiles and cumin to the mix. My husband also thought the consistancy of the flour tortillas were gummy once they soaked in the green sauce. His personal preference has always been corn tortillas. I think he just thinks that flour tortillas in general are gummy, so I don't fault the recipe for that. I personally enjoyed the consistancy, and think the dish came out well. Will definitely make this again, with the added tweaks to make the dish a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
enchiladas with flour tortillas? that's a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I live in the southwest and enchiladas are always made with corn tortillas. It makes the world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Add cream cheese to this to make it exceptional! Cook the chicken in low sodium chicken broth, then after it cools, dice or shred and add cream cheese to the chicken along with spices of your choice and heat in a skillet until cream cheese melts. Then fill with corn tortillas, not flour for a much better taste! Before filling the corn tortilla, dip it in hot, hot oil for about 5 seconds to soft it up. Every time I make these I get at least 10 people that want the recipe. I also prefer Old El Paso green chile enchilada sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this before and it is yummy. I use a pre-cooked chicken that I get from the deli if I don't have any left over chicken. I also mix a can of cream of chicken (or mushroom) soup with the green echilada sauce. I quickly dip the flour tortillas in hot oil, shake them off, then into the green sauce mixture. Then fill and cook as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is a great recipe. I use almost the same ingredients in my enchiladas, but i add about a half cup of salsa to the recipe. Here is a crock pot version of this recipe: mix salsa, enchilada sauce (another reviewer mentioned las palmas.. ill second that.. its delicious! each chile verde enchilada sauce tastes different. las palmas is one of the more flavorful ones). so mix salsa and sauce till combined. add chicken. cook on low for about 4 hours. shred chicken. keep on "keep warm" setting for 30-60 minutes.. this makes the flavor much stronger. when ready, follow the directions stated in the recipe. Thanks for sharing! VERY good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camismommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States