Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe....Easy and delicous. Probably the best Green Enchilada recipe I've found....very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Awesome! This is a great base recipe. With a few adjustments this goes to super awesome. I made these using "slow cooker carnitas" from this site (with chicken). Also added about 1/2 a cup of sour cream to the sauce. I bought a larger can of sauce for a few adjustments. It's easier to make the tortillas pliable before filling. To do this you can add some sauce to a skillet over medium low heat, and then coat the tortillas in the warm sauce one at a time, adding more sauce as needed. Also I like to add a maybe about a 1/3 cup of sauce to moisten the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was just okay. I used corn tortillas instead of flour. This could be why I didn't give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Loved this basic recipe. I too like to chop chic breast, saute with onion & garlic + mex spices I put some of the sauce & cheese inside the tortilla and then pour over the green sauce & then sprinkle dried cilantro & paprika on for color. I make two 9x13's & freeze one. Why make the mess and not make 2 batches :-}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acc Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great recipe, i did tweak it to the tastes in our family, i made my own green sauce using tomatillos,fresh garlic,serrano chilies and cillantro. I added a can of diced green chilies to the shredded chicken and used pepper jack cheese instead of regular jack,they were spicy and delicious, i have made them with both flour and corn torts, and making my own sauce is a plus because the tortillas tend to absorb the sauce that comes in a can, when making your own sauce its easier to control the consistancy of the sauce so they don't become dry later on. My hubby enjoys them the next day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Very easy and surprisingly tasty. I was afraid that they would be bland because of only having chicken and cheese on the inside, but that was not an issue at all. The enchilada sauce gave them great flavor. I took others' advice and used rotisserie chicken and heated the tortillas before working with them. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a very simple traditional recipe! very hard to improve on the classics, but my family always preheats the sauce in a medium sauce pan with a small can of cream of mushroom until sauce thickens. this eliminates the need for a specific brand of green sauce. if you do not like the cream of mushroom just preheat whatever brand of sauce you are buying. it will thicken making it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I have made this 3 times now and it is a constantly requested dish both at home and at work. I use the Chi-Chi's pre-shredded chicken in taco seasoning and add onions and jalapenos. I also use a combination of Monterey jack / Pepper jack cheese to add extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
A great base recipe to build on. I added a few diced jalapenos & green chiles to the chicken mixture. Very easy & everyone liked it. Great for a quick meal on busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineWheat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is very good as is but it can also be a start for some of us. I combined many reviews with this recipe! I boiled the chicken in water with about 2 lemons cut in quarters (squeezed out the juice and place the quarter in the water), seasoned salt, chopped onion, chilli powder and pepper. The chicken tasted great after that. ( Gotta create a recipe) Anyhow, I toasted my flour tortillas on a flame for about 5 seconds a side. Coated them in green sauce and filled them with cream cheese, lots of chicken mix with boiled chopped onions and monterey jack cheese and rolled them up. After that I poured green sauce over them and topped with Colby, Monterey,and a lil cheddar cheese. Sour cream and Guac on the side to compliment Side effect: Delicious mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States