Green Cabbage Caldo Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Will make again. Added carrots, didn't have chourico, so used ham and smoked saugage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love cabbage soup. I was looking for a different recipe and tried this one. This is excellent and easy to make. I will be making it again. I did not have Portuguese chourico sausage and used italian sausage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wasn't sure this was a keeper until I tried it the next day. Wow, so much richer. I did use smoked sausage and fried it first and then added some butter to the soup. Five stars for simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! It is hearty and filling and super good!! I had to use linguica instead of chorico because that was all I could find! I'll be making this often, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great soup! My family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
WOW! I made this with authentic Chourico from Furtados in Fall River, my childhood home. I took heed and followed the recipe, except to add salt to Kosher 3 Tsp. I added 1 Tsp of ground black pepper and 1 Tbsp of red pepper flakes. I used the boat motor; easy, and left it with some chunk. I used half green cabbage and half kale. This is awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is an excellent soup for the chilly days of autumn! Here's what I did a little differently from the original recipe. I used Polish beef sausage instead of chorizo (to make it kosher). I added 1 carrot, chopped into small pieces, plus its carrot greens, finely diced, for color. I used 4 tsp of salt instead of 2 tsp of salt because I like it more heavily seasoned. I used plain paprika instead of smoked paprika only because I didn't have the smoked kind. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
What a nice surprise this soup was! I only used half the amount of sausage the recipe calls for (which is what I had, and it was plenty) and I added a can of white beans. I also finished off with a squeeze of lemon to the pot. Super easy, yummy, and affordable soup – can’t beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Double delicious! My husband is Portuguese, and his mother used to make this weekly. I've been looking for the recipe ever since--this is it! Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States