Green Cabbage Caldo Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is an excellent soup for the chilly days of autumn! Here's what I did a little differently from the original recipe. I used Polish beef sausage instead of chorizo (to make it kosher). I added 1 carrot, chopped into small pieces, plus its carrot greens, finely diced, for color. I used 4 tsp of salt instead of 2 tsp of salt because I like it more heavily seasoned. I used plain paprika instead of smoked paprika only because I didn't have the smoked kind. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
What a nice surprise this soup was! I only used half the amount of sausage the recipe calls for (which is what I had, and it was plenty) and I added a can of white beans. I also finished off with a squeeze of lemon to the pot. Super easy, yummy, and affordable soup – can’t beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very easy to make. I stuck to the recipe. Next time I plan to incorporate chicken broth into the required liqid. I think It might provide more depth of flavor. I also might try added carrtos as suggested in another review. I substituted linguisa for the chourico as I could not locate that particular sausage. I also need to add more salt. Not quitre enough for my personal taste. Loved it though. Everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Will make again. Added carrots, didn't have chourico, so used ham and smoked saugage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love cabbage soup. I was looking for a different recipe and tried this one. This is excellent and easy to make. I will be making it again. I did not have Portuguese chourico sausage and used italian sausage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! It is hearty and filling and super good!! I had to use linguica instead of chorico because that was all I could find! I'll be making this often, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Hello from Portugal, the traditional caldo Verde, is usually made with Kale leaf, very very finely sliced, here in Portugal we usually don't use cabbage, thats why we call it "caldo verde" which mean green soup, and you get the green colour from the Kale leafa, otherwise your receipe is perfect. On the side we like to serve it with a nice slice of Portuguese corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great soup! My family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Cabbage is not the standard for this soup at all. It seems a good recipe, but the best substitute (what can easily be found in american grocery stores) is collard greens. Cut out the stems, rolls the leaves up tightly, finely shred them with a knife and add to the bowls, not the pot. The potatoes should be mostly mashed, not pureed and pasty looking. And when my Avo (grandma) cant get chourico or linguica sausage, she uses mild italian sausage. Its a bit strong but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wasn't sure this was a keeper until I tried it the next day. Wow, so much richer. I did use smoked sausage and fried it first and then added some butter to the soup. Five stars for simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States