Green Cabbage Caldo Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
What a nice surprise this soup was! I only used half the amount of sausage the recipe calls for (which is what I had, and it was plenty) and I added a can of white beans. I also finished off with a squeeze of lemon to the pot. Super easy, yummy, and affordable soup – can’t beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great soup! My family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Will make again. Added carrots, didn't have chourico, so used ham and smoked saugage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love cabbage soup. I was looking for a different recipe and tried this one. This is excellent and easy to make. I will be making it again. I did not have Portuguese chourico sausage and used italian sausage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wasn't sure this was a keeper until I tried it the next day. Wow, so much richer. I did use smoked sausage and fried it first and then added some butter to the soup. Five stars for simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
WOW! I made this with authentic Chourico from Furtados in Fall River, my childhood home. I took heed and followed the recipe, except to add salt to Kosher 3 Tsp. I added 1 Tsp of ground black pepper and 1 Tbsp of red pepper flakes. I used the boat motor; easy, and left it with some chunk. I used half green cabbage and half kale. This is awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Double delicious! My husband is Portuguese, and his mother used to make this weekly. I've been looking for the recipe ever since--this is it! Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is an excellent soup for the chilly days of autumn! Here's what I did a little differently from the original recipe. I used Polish beef sausage instead of chorizo (to make it kosher). I added 1 carrot, chopped into small pieces, plus its carrot greens, finely diced, for color. I used 4 tsp of salt instead of 2 tsp of salt because I like it more heavily seasoned. I used plain paprika instead of smoked paprika only because I didn't have the smoked kind. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! It is hearty and filling and super good!! I had to use linguica instead of chorico because that was all I could find! I'll be making this often, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States